Third time ice-cream


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
November 30th 2006
Published: November 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've only spent a day and a half in Mcleod Ganj, but there really is something special in this place. I think this is the only place everyone told me they loved. I prepared myself to be a bit disappointed since I'd heard so many good things, but this place has good energy. Yesterday I just walked around town, getting to know the place, resting from the journey over and I became completely calm and serene.

Today I decided I should start doing some of the things there are to do here (like looking into courses - there are practically none) and going to the temple (sounds pretty simple - you just go there). When I got to the entrance to the temple they said I couldn't enter with a camera and there was no place to leave it. I was a bit annoyed, since according to the lonely planet you can bring a camera and I hadn't heard of any other tourists having problems. But I went back to my room to leave the camera and returned. Then I went through a very thorough security check and entered. Inside people were sitting looking at the path in the middle, talking in hushed voices, which seemed a bit strange since it didn't look like a temple, till I saw there were video cameras. It turned out that I happened to visit the area exactly when the Dalai Lama was due to come give a lecture. I couldn't enter the lecture itself, but it was quite exciting to see him walk by, blessing people on the way and there weren't many people so I got to see him up close. But the lecture is in the temple and the museum is closed for lunch, so I ended up leaving again without seeing anything. I'll try again later - maybe this time they'll give me ice-cream.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb