The story goes like this.....


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Manali
June 25th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sarahan templeSarahan templeSarahan temple

me in ornage
Yo.
So I'm back in the so called civilized world. but I'm not sure about its civilization. I'm in a town calledManali, where i can and did indulge myself with Pizza and other foods, but after 3 and a half weeks of Rice and Dal, it didn't taste that good😊
Its the first time in the last 3 1/2 weeks that I have descent speed Internet so i can write more in lenght and upload pictures.
I'll try to put here all my travel experiences in the last weeks, probably I'll do it in several parts, so stay tuned.

I started off from Shimla towards Kinnour Vally about 3 weeks ago. My first stop was in a very small Village called Sarahan with a beautiful wooden temple from ages ago. I spent the night alone in an empty 25 beds dorm in the temple itself, walked around town meet an English guy (that would turn out to be my travel companion for the whole trip). The following day me and Steve went down to Jeori, and waited for the local bus to Sangla. it was pretty hot that day and while we waited Steve came out with the idea to take a taxi for 7 times the price of
the local bus, as he put it "its only 7 quits" (rich English people) I went along. And boy I was happy.... the ride took us about 6 hours and at no single point on the journey the road was paved, really. The road goes along several valleys with some mighty rivers flowing at the
bottom, me an Steve are in a 4X4 jeep stopping to take pics. luxory living. The valleys also change at the beginning they are smaller mountains and not much vegetation, and soon after there are great mountains with huge Pine trees. really impressive.
We got to Sangla at evening time, checked into a dorm room for 1.5 euros, and went to the village enter. we had a small dinner which included those incredibility testy Momo dumplings (i had to take the lamb ones). Then I've seen the best rainbow ever, small in side a
Vally perfect colors and shape. That was my welcome to Sangla, not bad.( see pic)
The day after me and Steve went for a walk, and got ourselves a bit lost, and the only choice to fix it was to walk on a large tree log over the river. Steve got chicken (sorry mate) while i was already half way so we went back. tiered but happy. The village itself is build on
the side of the mountain on a very steep slope, every time i went to the river i had to swat on the way back up to village and the lack of oxygen makes it even harder to breath. that night i met a couple of Israeli kids that were going for a 3 days trek in the
nearby mountains, I decided to join. at 8 am the following day i was pack to go, we hit
off very late and walked to my disappointment only 3 hours before stopping to an over night camp. I was raining all night and clouding in the morning so the views were So So. but when we reach the pass it was almost clear (see pic). we slept that night in another camp site with great views over the Spiti range. (See pic) and walk in the morning back to Sangla. After hot shower and good Momo, headed back to my Hotel and met two Swiss guys in my room, we chatted a bit (i must practice my French), and hit it off to bed. At 6:30 i was up agian and one the bus to Rkong Peo.
that it, for the first posting. I have so much more to puit down, but i don't want to spend all day in front of a screen, I'm after alll on holiday😊
till soon
peace
B





Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Ride to Sangla Ride to Sangla
Ride to Sangla

hydropower station
Sangla Sangla
Sangla

perfect rianbow (doesn't fit in one frame)
Sangla Sangla
Sangla

the river and mountains
SanglaSangla
Sangla

peak and pine
Sangla Sangla
Sangla

peak and pine
SanglaSangla
Sangla

Rambo river crossing
Sangla trek 4Sangla trek 4
Sangla trek 4

me and view
Sangla trek 5Sangla trek 5
Sangla trek 5

me and view


26th June 2006

WOW
Hey this all looks amazing! Have a blast... I'm jealous of all this nature sitting in New York's concrete jungle...
26th June 2006

Sweet man.. sweet
Nice rainbow. I am so jealous. SSSSSEmmmek!!!

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 68; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb