India - Week One Highlights


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Gujarat » Ahmedabad
March 15th 2011
Published: March 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

India Week One (100)India Week One (100)India Week One (100)

Taj Mahal Hotel
The Taxi Ride from the Airport to the Hotel
My flight landed at 2:30am, so I figured I'd have relatively smooth sailing through traffic for the taxi ride to downtown from the airport. I just didn't realize how smooth. Of the twelve red traffic lights we hit on the way into town, we stopped for precisely NONE of them. I don't think we even slowed down for any of them. In fact, the only time we stopped the whole way (a trip of ~30 mis) was at a green turn arrow because the two cars in front of us were stopped blocking both lanes while having a chat!

The First Day (Mumbai)
I normally book my first night's hotel when I'm flying into some place just so I have somewhere to go when I land, but I decided to wing it this time because it was difficult to book any of the cheap hotels online (and by cheap I'm talking $10 or less). So, as I thought might happen, all of the hotels were full when I arrived at 4am, so I spent my first four hours in Mumbai hanging out on a street corner with two Swedes I met
India Week One (101)India Week One (101)India Week One (101)

Mahalaxmi Dhobi Gat - Place of Clothes Washing
at the airport and a bunch of taxi drivers who were just sleeping out on the sidewalk for the night. It was kind of surreal, especially because all the guys sleeping on the street / benches were in slacks and nice button down shirts!

After finally managing to check into a place at 9am, I set out to have an easy day wandering the town for as long as I could to try to beat some of the jet lag. And my plans were going well until I decided to make a quick run up to the Dharavi slums. Now I didn't really know what to expect when I decided to go, but no matter what thoughts I might have had, they certainly would have been wrong. When I got there, I ducked into the first dark alley I saw entering the slum (it's own walled off area), and I was AMAZED to find that it was really quite clean. And all of the people were giggling and happy to see me. The more surprising part happened when I stepped out of the slum. Three college kids at the first shop I passed dragged me in for some chai - their treat (watch for this theme). After chatting with them for about 15 minutes, they decided to take me on an impromptu tour of the slum. We spent maybe 90 minutes walking all over the place and they introduced me to just about everyone we passed. I mean I must have met 100+ plus people who were aunts, uncles, cousins, sister's boyfriends, best friend's nephews, etc. It definitely was not something I was expecting, and it really gave me a surprising image of the Indian slums. Sure, I know there are probably some really awful parts, but there are also some places where kids are going to college! It really was just like a small, self-contained city tucked inside a bigger metropolis.

The Second Day (Mumbai)
Taking pictures with strangers began again in earnest. I thought it would be different here given the history with Britain, but not so. I took maybe 30+ pictures with random Indians I ran across. Heck, I even had a couple hand me their 6-month-old daughter so they could take a picture of us together!

The Third and Fourth Days (Ellora Caves near Aurangabad)
Today I learned that, historically speaking, older Indian civilizations were just as crazy as the Chinese, Egyptians, Inca, etc. in their feats of extravagant building. At the Ellora caves I saw one of the most amazing things I've seen in my entire life - a HUGE temple, plaza, and gate all carved from the side of a mountain. The whole place - including statues and other ornamental carvings - is made of a single stone. Seriously, that is just nuts. Unfortunately, my pictures don't do it justice, but you'll just have to take a look at them to get a feel for what I'm talking about.

Day Five (Ahmadabad)
See previous blog post.

Day Six (Ahmadabad) - A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Market
We'll just call this market day. I forgot to have breakfast, so by the time lunch rolled around I was starving. I decided to pop into a fruit and vegetable market to grab some oranges to tide me over. As I started walking through the market, it was kind of a repeat of day five in that everyone wanted me to take pictures. However, there was one big difference this time - everyone wanted me to either try their produce or to share some chai with them. After two hours of bouncing from stall to stall, I emerged from the market totally stuffed! They'd managed to make me take 2 tomatoes, two oranges, 1 lemon, two popcicles, 2 cups of chai, 1 cup of coffee, a handful of peanuts, and a handful of another type of nut. And that's just the food that I accepted. I probably turned down three times again that amount. Indian hospitality / kindness is just phenomenal. Now I just wish I could figure out how to get them to accept some of the things I offer in return. Maybe it'll happen when I learn the head waggle.


Weird Things of Note so Far:
- I had a snack of cut up pineapple & papaya sprinkled with black pepper. I'll say it tasted pretty interesting.
- I've been asked if I'm Japanese (3 different times) and Chinese. The funniest part is that the people asking seem really surprised / disappointed that I'm actually American instead.


Additional photos below
Photos: 99, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

India Week One (109)India Week One (109)
India Week One (109)

The guys who gave me a tour of the Dharavi Slum
India Week One (111)India Week One (111)
India Week One (111)

The site of my first attempt at Cricket
India Week One (116)India Week One (116)
India Week One (116)

Only in India would "songs" be listed as a form of harassment


15th March 2011
India Week One (148)

Name your sweets
I think I see some barfi...maybe rasgulla? No chikki, jalebi, or kheer?
16th March 2011

Dude, how much research did you have to do to come up with those names? I just walk in and point. I suppose I should ask, but the names would get mixed up with the other Hindi words I am trying to learn. You would definitely love this country, though. The food is amazing, and so diverse. So you're happy that I'm including some more food pics?
17th March 2011

No food poisoning yet?:)
Seriously? My sister was in the country about a day when she got hit with it. The food choices look a lot more varied than I would have thought. The pics of the palace carved out of stone were amazing. How was the trip home as far as getting slapped with Western culture for two weeks then heading back into the grind? Was it strange or oddly normal? Also, why do you think the people want you to take a picture of them? Ot is it just the novelty? One last thing - Brian retired last week! Brad and I are "bossless". He got an offer he couldn't refuse and it had to take effect before the end of the fiscal year so there you go!
18th March 2011

I just read your blog and enjoyed it all over again. I realized that I forgot to add a comment the first time through. It's as wonderful as ever and I get such pleasure reading them! I looked through the pictures trying to find someone else wearing your hat and found the guy in the market. My favorite picture still is the goat in the motorcycle!
19th March 2011

Ha ha, you and Kris have such similar tastes. She said the goat on the motorcyle was by far her favorite too :)
20th March 2011

Hey Kate - So far so good. I love my steel-lined stomach :) And, as for Indian cuisine, I really think it must be some of the most varied in the world. Definitely the most varied I've had so far on the trip. As for home, it was definitely a bit odd. It was nice to have the relaxing break (not too relaxing with all of the running around), but it did throw me off for a day or two when I got to India. I'm back in the travel swing now. As for photos, people just want them for the novelty of seeing themselves. They always thank me when I show them the photo.

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb