Last Diary From Hyderabad


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad
May 5th 2006
Published: May 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

While for about four months now I have often complained about India, for example the noise, the smells, or stepping in cow dung on my way to the bus everyday--now that I'm leaving I know I am going to miss being here. The last couple of weeks I have tried to see as much of Hyderabad as I could, and I toured Golconda Fort, the Birla Mandir Temple, the numerous palaces of the Old City, attended my first Hindu wedding, and much more. So, instead of me rambling on I will simply leave you with some cool photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Architecture of the Old CityArchitecture of the Old City
Architecture of the Old City

These buildings have intricate moldings and probably were built in the late 19th/early 20th century, when Hyderabad was under a heavy European influence
Mecca MasjidMecca Masjid
Mecca Masjid

One of the largest mosques in the East
On a Roadside StandOn a Roadside Stand
On a Roadside Stand

I'm not sure what this lion is supposed to represent...
From an AutoRickshawFrom an AutoRickshaw
From an AutoRickshaw

Spotted under the meter
From a Bus in KeralaFrom a Bus in Kerala
From a Bus in Kerala

That's Jesus there in the picture
From Kerala From Kerala
From Kerala

Trying to get a snap of Jesus with Krishna
A Newly Married Hindu CoupleA Newly Married Hindu Couple
A Newly Married Hindu Couple

This was my first Indian wedding. Her sari cost about 60,000 Rupees, which is about 1400 USD.
Eating With Your HandsEating With Your Hands
Eating With Your Hands

As is the custom in India
Touring Golkonda FortTouring Golkonda Fort
Touring Golkonda Fort

Set atop a hill west of the Old City of Hyderabad, the princely rulers stayed here for about 100 years, until they were conquered by Aurangzeb.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb