A Day in The Life of A Hydrabady Hero


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad
April 11th 2006
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

5:15 AM - I wake up in my hotel room to the sound of the phone ringing for my wake up call. "Saaar, this is your call for the wake up" a voice drones. I shake my head at how such a seemingly simple sentance can go so wrong. I look around my hotel room and realize that i've already been in Hyderabad for 3 weeks. So much has happened already on this trip and I'm anxious to get my day started.

5:45 AM - 1 shower, 2 bottles of water, and a hasty prayer layer, I'm downstairs getting into the back seat of my company car. My driver Vasant tells me that his son just completed his 6th standard exam and his daughter is now applying for university. Vasant is amazing...a driver for the past ten years, he reminds me every morning the meaning of "duty." In watching Vasant over the past few weeks, I've realized that Vasant doesn't go out of his way for me day in and day out because he is being payed to, but for his own personal satisfaction.

6:00 AM - I peer around the corner wall, ready to face the most dreaded part of my day ...it is time to face Woofy. Woofy is a snarling, 120 pound, heart quaking beast of a dog that stands between me and my harmonium class every morning. I have named this dog Woofy in an attempt to create a friendlier image of this dog in my mind...hoping that one day I will show up for class and he will have magically turned into a fluffy poodle. No such luck today. I calm myself mentally, loosen my limbs and prepare to execute the only strategy I have to face Woofy. I pull out a pack of Parle G biscuits, throw a bicuit high over Woofy's head, and run like mad up to the second floor. Shyam 1, Woofy 0.

6:00 - 7:00 AM - Harmonium class is amazing! Guruji (never really got his first name) is a lover of music and ardent worshipper of Siva. He watches my fingering closely while he teaches me bhajans and techniques to improve the speed and accuracy of my playing. Guruji's eyes get teary when he explains the meaning of a line that he translates to "How can we ever repay a God who must give us the very means to repay Him.."

7:30-9 - EST gym, owned by cricketer Mohammed Azharuddhin. I walk in to an image that seems to capture India in the past decade...Using the lateral pull down machine is an elderly woman in tight spandex pants with a way-too-brief top. Next to her, on the seated bench press machine is a woman cloaked from head to toe in a burka. Welcome to India...Western culture planted squarely on a fading Eastern base. India has skyrocketed economically, creating a "real" middle class, and raising the standards of living to heights that once were just a dream...but at what cost?

I side step the spandex and thank Swami my retinas are still functional.

11 - 9 PM - Ah the wonders of working in a global corporation (sarcasm)! The office is light hearted and filled with people who love to stop by and chat (something unheard of in most of Corporations in the US). At the 5:30 PM, everything changes as the US offices come to life...people scramble to please their off-shore managers, making promises they can't keep and sacrificies that they shouldn't have to make. Globalization has its pro's...these are just a few examples of its cons.

9 - 10 PM - Go out with people at work for a quick bite and a few laughs.

11 PM - Back in the hotel ready for a deep sleep!

K - so that's it! Stay tuned for future issues of the Hyderabady Hero. Here's a quick sneak peak at articles in next month's issue:

May Issue:
- Dealing with a snoring roommate (An ingenous method I have developed to stop Sandeep from snoring when he sleeps over)
- Shyam Vs. Woofy Part II
- Experiences working with the Hyderabad YA group (Grama Seva, amazing bhajans...I'm in heaven!)



Advertisement



11th April 2006

Wow
Hi Shyam - you really are a hero in H-bad! Woofy sounds like Holly.
11th April 2006

You are the man
man, you are up way too early. I would have thought cinnamon would have prepared you for woofy. good call on the biscuit toss.
11th April 2006

Can't wait for more!
Hey Shyam, thanks for making this blog for those of us who want to stay in touch and can't figure out when to reach you. This explains why- you are one busy Hyderbadian fellow!
11th April 2006

Hi!!
Good luck w/ Woofy!! By the way, this is pretty cool... Is this your own website, or did u become a member of some other site? OK BYE P.S. Hows that XBOX 360?
11th April 2006

What way to live!!!
It is terrific. keep the hero going well with his stated goals. What a way to cheat Woofy? The entertainment value is very good. By the way there is no heroine of the Hydra Baaddi.
11th April 2006

COOLIO
hmmm sounds like a lot of fun =] WOOFY hahahahah. by far my fav. part. besides for the tight spandex lady. haha. hahaha. hahahahaha. Hydrabady Hero? ;] mhmm.
11th April 2006

A Suggestion
I would suggest trying the scare tactic with Woofy. You know, instead of the pansy-like biscuit-throwing, look him straight in the eye, and let him know that you are ready to take him on. OR, if that doesn't work, try the vacuum cleaner.
11th April 2006

.................................................................
Amazing! Woofy is like a dog at my neighbor's house opposite to mine. Waiting for May issue!
11th April 2006

Ah...the good ol' Motherland!!!
I hope you do realize that "Hydrabadian Hero" is an oxymoron ;oP But, I'm sure you're making a great attempt. Life sounds very exciting in India!!! I sure do miss the old country. Thanks for the fun blogs...it keeps us all connected to the ways of our fellow brown people. I'll try to use this new "fandangle" skype thing that you keep telling me. Man, what will they come up with next. Anyhoo...stay sweet and cool. Peace out!!! By the way, what kind of a dog IS "fluffy"?? (@_@)
12th April 2006

living the dream
hi shyamala, i mean 'arey yaar this is tooo good'. awaiting more stories from h-bad laptop.
12th April 2006

Want more!
Hey Shyam, Can you please make these newsletters an everyday thing? Nothing like waking up to some "tight spandex" story! Oh by the way, you could get some more stories if you try some of the old city's gyms. I am amazed that you have planned it so well to use your time to practise more of Harmonium. Cool plan.
15th April 2006

Hi
Hey Shyam, Careful! Unlike US, most Indian dogs bite! And many of them aren't vaccinated! keep up your points. You can't afford to give even 1 pt to woofy! Hey, how are you tackling with the snoring of sandeep? If it is really a good method, you can make a fortune man! Also, you might want to have an over night recording to see if someone else other than sandeep is snoring!:)) Nice to hear about your Guruji! Enjoy!
16th April 2006

IM ON SPRING BREAK EVEN THOUGH IT"S ALMOST OVER!
Ok yeah sorry that comment title had nothing to do with anything! Those pictures were really cool (the seva pics)! You wake up waaaayyyyy to early for my liking! Trust me in my world that is NOT allowed or normal! Anyhoo my favorite part would have to be the 5:15 AM morning wake up call (even though it is too early! Yeah well bye!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb