Day Two - Hyderabad to Hospet


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad
March 2nd 2010
Published: March 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Having spent much of my first night awake and only having had a couple of hours sleep, I checked out from my hotel (given that the owner didn't really help me out much the night before with the taxi driver and that it was costing 600 a night).
So I stepped out into the bright Hyderabad morning with the intention of going to one of the other places recommended in the bible. Now this was obviously easier said than done as most streets didn't seem to have names and those that I could see didn't appear on my map.
After walking around for a couple of hours, I soon found my new hotel only to then discover that they were full. By now drained by the heat, I decided that what there was to see in Hyderabad wasn't of much interest so I would go the bus station and look for a bus to Hospet, where I could then go to Hampi. (which was meant to be beautiful).
I got to the bus station an hour later and having bought a ticket had to then wait till 5.30 for it to depart. As those of you good with numbers will have worked out, this gave me five and a halkd hours to kill in Hyderabad bus station (I was too tired to go elsewhere). I found a quiet place and using my big bag as a pillow and with my small bag on my front, managed to get a couple of hours of not sleep really but 'eye resting'. That was until some guy got annoyed with me and I then had to go into the main area and face the hyderbadian masses. I managed to sit there for a surprisingly long time without any hassle (30 mins), before some guy wanted to talk to me, through his broken english we managed to have half a conversation but given that I just wanted to be left alone, I really wasn't in the mood especially when another gentlemen joined in. Double trouble. Add to this two beggars who obviously would have been in a wheelchair in England, but this being India, had to make do with what can only be described as a plank of wood with wheels on it (more like a skateboard) and time couldn't go quick enough...
5.30 came around and no sign of my bus, a very sweaty and nervous 30 minutes followed. Despite people telling me it would soon be here, before it did eventually arrive at 6 o clock.
Once a woman had seemingly packed her whole entire life on to the top of the bus we left. The journey itself was mostly done in the dark and I think I am thankful that it was, because sometimes what you don't see, don't hurt. Despite only having had a couple of hours sleep in a few days, sleep still wouldn't come. So I was very much awake, when one of the women started screaming at the top of her voice. Unfortunately I don't know what was said or what had happened, but my only guess after much gesturing by some of the other guys, was the gentleman who had recently just got on the bus was either drunk and she didn't like this or was being inappropriate in some other way. Now if this elsewhere, more would of been made of it I'm sure, but the gentleman seemingly shrugged he shoulders, sat in a different seat and all (as long as he was concerned) was forgotten....bizarre. The only other event to happen was that I got charged 15 rupees for a litre of water instead of the up-till then usual 60. Again I had been paying foreigner prices without knowing it!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb