Bye, Vicky!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad
March 7th 2007
Published: March 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christina here:
Our dear friend Vicky K., who grew up here, helped his dad run the orphanage and then moved to the States to raise funds for this work, has been visiting here in India with us, helping us work on filming. He left Sunday morning for America and his beautiful wife and 3 daughters.
It's been so wonderful to have him here, not just for the film project, but for his company. Vicky is a man of purpose, vision, dedication, and a goofy sense of humor we treasure. He also made up and sang a song for us that may well be our film's theme. Just wait until you hear "Film Girls" the song! Vicky, we miss you already!
Here's some pictures of Vicky & I on a boat some fishermen took us out on when we visited a fishing village. These joyful guys are all workers in the Child Development Center there. They end up doing lots of family counseling, (there used to be a lot of abuse of women and children) and it's had a huge impact on the village.

A note: Vicky told us one lesson he's learned here in India, is that you can always lose weight when you get back to America. The food here is so good! We're working on self-control, so we can continue to fit into the few articles of clothing we brought with us.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



10th March 2007

glad I could able to come
Dear Film girls What a Joy to be a part of this film project. I too miss you guys, but I am happy to see my wife and three little girls. Now I have been telling my kids about the stories of film girls. I told them one story its not that hard for christina to make friends. I told to Racehl my eldest one that I wrote a song and sang that, she asked me immediately how come you never sing for us? I told her it has to be Spon-taneous. But I do have a song for each of my girls, ofcourse for Rebecca my wife I have several albums.
12th March 2007

Truth is the Answer
Sheryl and Christina I would like to make a comment on the Fishermen tribe. several people died with HIV in this community. And also little children were died with malnutrition and poor sanitation. Even the drinking water is not that great. This village is known for the Chicken guinea and Dangue fever. My hope for this village is the child development project that IERF runs partnering with compassion International. As our staff began to educate the community in several areas and also conducting free medical camps and health counselling people slowly began accpt the change and began different life style this chane is for good health. Now peopel do not fight like they use to, people now aware of what will cause the HIV and the consequences. And they are not allowing their children to go for child labor and etc... The answer for all these problems is the "Truth". We come to know about the truth and we are sharing that good news to others and the good lord is giving us patience.
12th March 2007

Thanks
Sheryl and Christina Hi guys thanks for the good comments! Can't wait to see you in states. Have fun, rest of your trip. I spoke to Dave! he sounds good.

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb