University in India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad
January 9th 2007
Published: January 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I felt like I had a lot to write about today. I told myself that I would make an effort to post entries whenever something exciting or interesting happens, so that would imply that something exciting or interesting happened today, but it was actually a pretty mellow day. SO, I'm not quite sure what I was going to write about, but I do have a few things that I know helped me to have a very good day.

First good thing: I made it to yoga again. It was harder to wake up the second day than it was the first. But I felt much better once we started, and I also felt very nice afterward. I'm not even sure of why I'm doing this certification program. I could go an hour later for a regular class. I don't even think I like yoga. When I think about doing yoga, I don't like the idea of it. But I've felt really good the past two days after doing it. I'm awake, and relaxed, and that gets me off to a good start. That still doesn't explain my desire to be certified, but whatever...one of life's mysteries or something. After yoga I went for a run with Anna again, and it was also nice. It's a simple loop, about 20 minutes, but it also helps me to get a good start.

Next good thing: I talked to Tony on AIM, which makes my day just that much better.

Next good thing: After lunch, I got a SIM card for my cell phone, so now, I don't have to use the telephone booth as much.

Next good thing: I went to my Political Economy of Human Rights class, and I am so excited about taking it this semester. It's just perfect for me--it's an international relations topic, it's about human rights and humanity's desire to cause change in the world, and it's being taught at the University of Hyderabad, which has not only set the precedent for the study of human rights in India, but is also, very simply, an Indian University where I can study the issue from another point of view. Cool!
I think that's what I like most about my Poli Sci courses--there's a lot of history being taught along with the regular material, and it's all from a different perspective than what I've always experienced. I really like references to America in class, positive or negative. My 'India in World Affairs' professor had a good lecture today as well, and he was quite funny today as well. For instance, in giving reasons for why the British decided to use their enormous navy to sail to India, he offered that Britain is a very cold country, so they were just making their way to some place a little warmer, more tropical. ......So, it's more funny if you hear it from him, but just little jokes like that. Really, it was funny....I laughed...
Rachel and I were both in the World Affairs class (oh, side note: some Indians sat on the same side of the classroom as us so it seems yesterday was just a big misunderstanding, and now it's cool), and we walked back to the guest house together. She's studying Political Science and Religious Studies, which I think is a great combination, and am tempted to do it myself. Anyway, because our degrees are so similar, we both were pretty into the class, and it was nice to find someone who is also interested in an area that's so close to mine. Some people seem to have come to India for random reasons, and others for very specific reasons, so it was cool to find out what her reasons were for coming, and how relevent it is to her degree. (She has a concentration in South Asian religions, hence, study abroad in India). Someday I will describe Rachel in further detail as she is...well...interesting. But that would take some time.

Next good thing: When we got back to the guest house, not only was Cahalen playing his guitar, but Gretchen was playing the fiddle. Cahalen is well known in this group already for being a fantastic guitar player, and an excellent singer as well. He knows all sorts of bluegrass tunes, and he also writes his own songs. I didn't know Gretchen could play fiddle though, and she was really talented as well, plus she can sing. It was lovely to listen to them for awhile. One of my favorite parts about being in Talkeetna all last summer was that there was almost always some sort of fiddle or guitar or similar bluegrass performance going on, and it was a blast to listen and dance to. It was nice to hear that again, I enjoyed it.

And, so, well, then I came inside, and now I'm here...writing about being here. Maybe time to end this entry? Yes, I think so. I will post a few random pictures here, some of which do not belong to this post, but that is OK.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb