September 29, Winnipeg


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
September 30th 2017
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I woke up at 2 am, my effort to try to get ahead of the jet lag. There is a 13 hr time difference with Hong Kong. I went for a walk at 3 to drop off a book and pre pay my credit card. Some final packing and cleaning and I was ready.
Gerhard picked me up at 7:30, which gave us time for breakfast at Stella's. My plane for Vancouver left at 10. My Hong Kong flight was delayed 1.5 hours so I had a chance to explore the entire airport, the international section is huge.
The flight was 13 hours long. The map showed the flight path over Alaska , Siberia and North Korea but during the flight it showed us just north of NK.
The flight was full, almost all Asians. I tried to talk to the lady beside me but she didn't speak English. Watched Lala Land, read and slept for 6 hours.
I am staying at John Rempel's condo in Discovery Bay. With his excellent instructions I was at his place within an hour.
He had plans for us. I dropped off my stuff, put on my swim trunks and we went for a night paddle on the ocean. What an introduction to Hong Kong. We paddled to the point so we could see Disney World. Out here the waves were about a meter high. We had to watch out for the ferry making its runs. And nearby there was lighting.
Then we walked along the shore for some Mexican food. We then watched the Founder, McDonalds before getting to bed at midnight. An incredible first day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb