Kids say the funniest things...


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
July 26th 2012
Published: July 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Feeling so much better, I had been looking forward to my home fix of jacket potato and beans all day and it certainly didn’t disappoint (although I did put soy sauce on my beans just to feel slightly chinese).



Today I was back teaching, I realised after my first lesson that, although we didn’t have many resources, the kids at tadpoles were so bright! Trying to explain directions and a trip to London to my new class was met with a sea of blank faces and drawing maps was a none starter, naturally I resorted to learning directions the alternative way – the cha cha slide!



I had asked the kids to discuss in partners things they might find in England, I’ll share with you a few of my personal favourites:



<span><span>1. Queen coins

<span><span>2. Cleaners

<span><span>3. Big bells

<span><span>4. Big band (I think they meant big Ben)

<span><span>5. The River Times

<span><span>6. London’s eyes

<span><span>7. London’s ears

<span><span>8. London’s mouth

<span><span>9. Cambridge University

<span><span>10.Oxford University

<span><span>11.Gold hair

<span><span>12.Blue eyes

<span><span>13.Good English

<span><span>14.Tall people

<span><span>15.Cameroon (I think they meant Cameron)

<span><span>16.Scotland

<span><span>17.America

<span><span>18.The Queen Isabellla (that came up a scary number of times)



I’d asked them all to come up with five things; one boy’s list consisted of:



<span><span>1. Stamford Bridge

<span><span>2. Chelsea

<span><span>3. Blue t-shirts

<span><span>4. Emirates stadium

<span><span>5. White Heart Line (bless him)



Another group had written “British” and then noted down literally every word they knew in English so we had British UFOs, British bars, British fish, British dictionary, British fishing rod…. (you get the picture).



However my personal favourite came from a girl who had written “The youtube” <span> - classic.<span> <span> And with that, after just getting my voice back, I’m off to karaoke – I hope for everyone else’s sake that I can get away without singing!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb