Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
July 4th 2011
Published: July 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: HK subway 1 62 secs
2: HK subway 2 37 secs
3: HK in the subway 5 secs
Hong Kong July 4th (4TH OF JULY!!!!)
Today we saw the Hong Kong museum of history. It was quite interesting. Hong Kong has soooo much history behind it, it’s incredible! We had our first lecture today and it was really cool. The Taiwanese students are very funny and friendly. While on the bus I talked with 2 boys named Archie and Jeff they're pretty funny. This morning the girls helped me out with ordering breakfast because I was late.

During our discussion group time we all actually talked and got to know each other and each others' country’s pretty well. It wasn’t awkward at all (for me anyways). My discussion partners (non-BSU) are Wilson, Tommy, Annis, Kimberly and Layla. All are from Taiwan except Layla who is from the mainland Guangdong province.
After the lecture and discussion we went to the Hong Kong museum of history and after that we went to the mall area and actually ate McDonald's for lunch! It was our first McDonald’s experience since coming to Asia! The food tasted just like it does in America. After that we walked along Star Avenue or Avenue of Stars, I’m not exactly sure on the name, but it's where we found many famous Asian stars’ hand prints on the tile. This was alongside Victoria Harbour. We also found the famous Bruce lee statue and took pictures of it and with it.

At night, we watched the light show to make up for our lack of being in America during 4th of July. All of the participating buildings used fancy lights on the opposite side of Hong Kong to from this insane light show to music that was playing. We then took the subway back to the institute. That was an experience in itself, I tried to record it like I did in Beijing but I was so cramped inside the subway I ended up dropping the camera while it was filming!!
By the time I made it back to the institute I crashed HARD! I literally took off my shoes fell on the bed and didn’t get up till morning.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb