Bottoms Up!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
July 2nd 2005
Published: July 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Exhausted today so I'll keep the blog short... it turns out the relatives I stayed with last night have broadband and I could've connected the Powerbook to upload pics but I didn't have it with me so too bad :p Took some good ones the last couple of days which of course I'll share later on... looking forward to and dreading developing all the photos and the effort I have to put into making a nice photo album - it'll be a fun project but I just like whining haha.

Was terribly impressed by th HK Airport as usual, and it seems to have improved with a Starbucks and foreign currency exchange kiosk right out of customs even before the arrivals meet-and-greet with family and friends! They also had several information centres along the way but Candy dragged me along without letting me stop by to ask about attractions because our relatives were waiting... sigh. Saw lots of yummy places to eat and duty free shops as well... will have to go three or four hours early to hit them all and to make our flight on time!

The first day we spent having dim sum with uncles and aunts on my Mom's side of the family, then we shopped around for a bit and went back to my aunt's place where we played cards (I learned how to play Big Two, not very successfully) and had noodles for dinner. The noodles were cooked in this spiffy pot - all you have to do is plug it in and you can adjust the heat! It's absolutely fantastic and I want to buy one to take home for hot pot so we won't have to fuss with cans of gas but Candy's trying to talk me out of it since it takes up so much space in the suitcase >.< Spent the night at my aunt's and then we went to Tai Gu Mall to see a dinosaur fossil exhibit... I gawked not at the bones but at all the people who turned out with kids in tow, cameras (and cameraphones) in hand snapping away like mad. Didn't feel awkward at all with my Sony Ericsson cameraphone lol

We discovered an ice rink in the mall and Candy was salivating at the thought of skating but was too shy to ask if our cousins wanted to try, so I had to and talked them into it since two out of three had never skated before... it was fun but very very tiring since we spent the whole 2.5 hours teaching the girls how to skate and was going backwards holding their hands. At times I struggled with the equivalent of my body weight as my cousin tripped and leaned on me... my legs are jelly now and I need to stretch before I go to sleep. After that we took the infamous Star Ferry across the water to the new 'Walk of the Stars' (or something) that mimicks the Walk of Fame in Hollywood, complete with stars' handprints in the cement. Totally for tourists but I enjoyed the Hong Kong skyline across the water more than anything else... reminded me a lot of the seawall except it is all concrete ;D

Took the subway back to my uncle's place to stay, and stopped by a mall on the way back... managed to buy a few things (cough). Will go to bed now since it's midnight, let me know if the Canada Day BBQ was a success, or if it happened at all??

Advertisement



2nd July 2005

sounds fun!
looks like u harsh showboated on the skating rink! haha... triple lux! Canada Day went pretty well... too bad u weren't there cuz we had lots of gormet food! can't wait to tell u about the menu when u come back .ahaha

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb