Christmas Day


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Sha Tin
December 26th 2009
Published: December 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hells yeah.

Just woke up and I'm listening to rearranged and melodrama online. Yesterday was a fucking amazing day. Me and Johnny chilled until like 2pm after the crazy night before. We had lunch of udong noodles with his dad and talked about the kinds of netbooks out there, cause I figured I could use one for skyping and mobility since my large computer is such a bitch about those things.

Around 4 we left to Sham Shui Po and found this enormous electronics store with all different vendors. In it me and Johnny could simply walk around and compare prices and models over and over. We narrowed it down to two models, one within the cheap range I was hoping to spend, the other slightly more. In the end I got the more expensive one. I hope I can play civilization 3 on it, cause that would just be super awesome.

Johnny bounced for Christmas dinner with the family, and for the first time I got to walk around Hong Kong without a tour guide. Siraaj is a friend of Johnny's who agreed to show me around Jordan, a couple stops down the red line in Kowloon. Temple st. there has an outdoor market as amazing as Mong Kok, and I ended up buying a crazy t-shirt that the guy printed in front of me, some fake ray ban aviators, and a wrist ornament. There was a store with fake dvds and tv shows selling for cheap. I saw Big Bang Theory seasons 1-2 for $80, Seinfeld 6-10 for $200, Scrubs, House, Greek, the Simpsons, all that good stuff.

We went to this seafood restaurant where I was literally sitting next to bunches of fish and crustaceans in buckets of water, and dying--but still moving--water creatures I had never seen before on a tablecloth. If I had been more adventurous I could have maybe tried one of those, but instead I settled for teriyaki sauced clams and fried pork.

I took the metro back to Tai Wai and Johnny picked me up around 11pm in his BMW convertible. We went up past his school to an amazing outlook spot of the new territories area, before being joined by Chris, Gary, and Erik. After this we went and got some "Chinese dessert," but really almost everything was western that I could see, and I ended up with fried icecream.

I think I'll be making a detour journey to Manila on the 30th until the 3rd, although I would enjoy spending new years in Hong Kong. Ria is in Manila with her family, and I figured it would be cool to check out a new country, even for a short stint. Of course, I plan to be in Hong Kong on the 4th for my last chance at seeing Avatar in Imax. Booooooomb.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb