Chi Lin Nunnery


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
February 25th 2016
Published: February 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

On my first trip to HK, I stayed in Kowloon. I saw many things, spent plenty of money and may have gotten lost a few times, but did I visit the Chi Lin Nunnery? No. I didn't know anything about it so I was surprised on my second trip when a friend, who lives in HK, said she would take me there. I admit I wasn't expecting anything wonderful as it hadn't crossed my radar the first time round.



My initial reaction was one of shock. It was just calmly sitting there, with high rise buildings providing a contrasting background, offering the most peaceful sanctuary I have ever visited. I fell in love with it and didn't want to leave. I had spent my entire life looking for the sense of tranquillity that I discovered there.



Luckily, even though there were plenty of other tourists there, it was still extremely quiet. People strolled through, taking time to soak up the atmosphere and it was possible to take photos without strangers wandering through them.



We spent quite a bit of time there as I knew I wouldn't be returning so I wanted to make the most of every minute. And then I made the most of the souvenir shop. Plenty of nice little gifts to grab and take home as presents. I also grabbed a small, inexpensive book about the nunnery because it had photos taken in restricted areas. It helps me remember the tranquillity as well as calling me back to HK.



If you are staying in Kowloon, you absolutely have to visit the nunnery. And if you are staying elsewhere in HK, you absolutely have to visit the nunnery. And make sure your camera battery is charged!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb