Blisters


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
June 29th 2012
Published: June 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I learned how little I know. When helping out around the studio during my first day of work today, I fumbled a lot with the equipment (light stands and stuff). I just didn’t know how it worked. This stuff is so basic I was pretty embarrassed. But I got the hang of it and I know I’ll get better. My boss also seems really understanding, especially as he knows what king of educational background in photography I’m coming from: fine art printing, rather than commercial studio work. The genres are so different, and even when we did studio work at school our lights were all very different (and now that I know better, they were also all old and clumsy).



So my boss is really happy to teach me what they aren’t teaching us at school: the commercial side and how to make a living at it. And I’m really grateful for that!



I came into work today early and there was already another photographer doing a shoot in the studio (it gets rented out). Apparently it was for Elle or something. The woman overseeing the shoot was “the Anna Wintour of Hong Kong,” according to my boss (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anna_Wintour). And here I was in casual beach wear because my boss and I were going to check out his boat (didn’t happen because of a rescheduling).



For the shoot they were doing autumn wear on a couple male models. The guy doing hair and makeup was awesome (great at his job and hilarious and friendly). The photographer was really cool and had lots of opinions on how the clothes looked (some were outrageous! Glad he was thinking what I was thinking!). Of course he is also one of the best in Hong Kong, to be doing this level of work.



When the Anna Wintour-y woman asked me, “Would you date a man who dresses like that?” I could only say, “I wish *I* could dress like that!” Indeed, the shoes were snazzy (those of you who know me personally will understand how funny that brief discussion was). Both models were quiet, focused, and seemed really humble. And from the sound of it, they travel every three months or so to do the next set of jobs.



There were clothes from Burberry and D&G and other expensive names. It’s mind-boggling how much luxury there is here. And the precision required of the Anna Wintour-y woman and the photographer! Well, I knew what the photographer is doing; I know that kind of precision. But AW-y was very precise about every outfit, every look, every shot.



I eventually got out of work early and was confident enough to take the bus back alone. Adventure! Unfortunately, I got off the bus about a half-mile too early (at least) and had to walk back in sandals. So not only do I have nasty blisters from my shoes yesterday (the problem being I simply have feet that are too narrow for most non-sneaker shoes), I now have squishing blisters on the balls of my feet.



So there are a lot of balls on my feet now.



And for those who may appreciate further sophomoric humor (although the foot balls weren’t too bad), when I was on the bus I did pass a store called “Dick Beauty” (with two female models on the awning with makeup and stuff). Unfortunately I didn’t bring my big camera out today, so I didn’t take pictures, but I’ll try and look out for it again. Maybe I can post it. Anyway, I'm ready to take a nice and deep nap after walking through that heat and humidity (87 degrees F feels like 93 and wet). I guess it really wipes you out!

Advertisement



29th June 2012

Wow!
So, the Anna Wintour of HK actually spoke to you! Did she wait for your answer? :) Sounds like you're learning a lot! And, there is so very much to learn! Yay for the ballsy joke! haha
2nd July 2012

Yep, we chatted briefly. I mentioned the shoes were especially snazzy. Her daughter was there helping her out too (though she [the daughter] seemed a little clueless [shhhh don't tell anyone I said that lol])

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb