Hong Kong to Xi'an


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
February 5th 2010
Published: February 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ni hao.. or hello if you dont speak Chinese..

Well, arrived safe and well in Hong Kong after a 12 hour flight direct from London. I flew British Airways who are not the epitomy of luxury travel, but they get you there nonetheless. However I did doubt the latter part of that sentence for a moment as we were sat on the runway for 1&1/2 hours while they de-iced the wings, which involved turning off the aircon and creating a sauna in the cabin. Apart from that, a screaming child on the left and a moaning old couple on the right, there was not much I could complain about.

Arrived mid afternoon local time and the new airport was easy to navigate and I was soon on the MTR train to Kowloon central, near to where my Hostel is in Tsim Sha Tsui. I had to take a taxi ride from the station to the hotel. I was allocated number 2 taxi, which was driven by a crazy old man who couldnt understand the English place names. Despite not knowing where I wanted to go he sped off and threw his book at me asking to show him where I needed to go ! Well.. I got him to take me near the hostel where I was staying, and I only had to walk a short way to the hostel. That was still enough time to be offered 5 suits, 10 shirts and a dozen Rolox watches though...

I was staying at the Cosmic Guest House, which looked great on the website. At only GBP15 per night it was a dream. Well, as you may see in the picures I have taken.. it was no palace! But it does the job.. you may note the all-in-one shower/toilet combination. How you use that facility is I think down to your own interpretation ! But, when you're travelling, its important to look at the plus points, hot water, air con, and clean sheets are the most important things. However, noisy neighbours and 24 hour traffic outside.. well its only for a few nights.

I didnt sleep well the first night, mainly because I think my body clock was all skewed, and also because of noise coming from other rooms till 3am. So the first full day here was a bit of a struggle. However, after a coffee and come breakfast I had enough to do a couple of things. I went up to Victoria Peak.. where there is a view point for the whole of Hong Kong.. well on a clear day. You can see from the pics that I had a great view of the fog.. but not much else. However, I did have a nice lunch up there and a wonder around. Afterwards the fanicular train took me back down and stopped outside the Citibank Tower. I used to speak daily with people in that work place so I had a look around, and then walked over the bridge to Hong Kong Park. There are a few of these green spaces in Hong Kong, which look kind of serrial.. expecially from the inside where you feel like you are in a forest, but above the trees tower scy scrapers.. its an amazing sight.. there was a humid house with some interesting plants, very well maintained. In the evening I went to Victoria Harbour for a view of the city at night.. Wow.. literally hundreds of skyscrapers all lit up in red, blue and yellow lights.. not even the best panoramic camera could get them all in.. its
En-suiteEn-suiteEn-suite

Well.. saves time anyway.. !
a truely amazing sight.. and one I will remember most about Hong Kong.. there is a nice walk along the 'Avenue of Stars' where there are floor placques with hand prints and signatures of top Chinese actors and actresses.. I saw Jackie Chan, Bruce Lee & Chow Yun Fat, to name a few.. the only shame again is the fog.. but I think that's just part of Hong Kong.

The following day was a struggle to get myself out of bed.. needless to say I was exhausted. After some breakfast and trip to the internet cafe.. I walked into east Tsim Sha Tsui. This area is built up with western hotels and restaurants.. however it housed the fantastic History of Hong Kong museum.. which I spent hours walking around.. it goes back to how the islands were formed.. right up to recent events that have shaped Hong Kong such as the Japanese invasions where the islands were evacuated.. and the more recent Opium Wars which involved the British. I would recommend a trip to here for anyone visiting Hong Kong. Afterwards I walked back to Tsim Sha Tsui and visited the Space museum which was all about how China have explored Space.. some interesting interactive activities for people to experience walking without gravity etc.. it was a nice day.. I was museum-exausted after that day though and had some dinner and then went back to the hostel for some sleep.. as tomorrow I fly to Xi'an..

Hong Kong is a busy bustling place.. it has many interesting sights, and I only explored one small area.. I will be returning.. and hopefully to explore some other areas...

Speak to you soon..


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

My cumfy bedMy cumfy bed
My cumfy bed

Not sure what this room used to be used for .. the mirrors were a worry !!
Victoria HarbourVictoria Harbour
Victoria Harbour

You can see the fog
A square in CentralA square in Central
A square in Central

I forget the name
Fanicular RailwayFanicular Railway
Fanicular Railway

On the way up !
Victoria PeakVictoria Peak
Victoria Peak

View (!!) from Skytower
Hong Kong ParkHong Kong Park
Hong Kong Park

with backdrop of skyscrapers


8th February 2010

hey Chris, just in time for CNY...eat lots for me!! Are you going to see Heather? Have and keep me posted!
8th February 2010

Hey!! lovin the blog. I can always rely on your words of eloquence and wit to encapsulate the experience and get my travelling desires a flowing once more!! Good for you!! how long are you out there for? Look forward to the next installment! x
10th February 2010

Hey Maria.. Ill be in Shanghai for CNY.. looking forward to it.. fly then out to Thailand on 15th.. Em.. thanks for comments... I will be away till March 1st.. hope you enjoy the rest of the blog.. :-)
10th February 2010

oops!
hellooo! I deleted your 2nd blog by mistake. wot a wol!! Any chance you can post it to me again :-) otherwise i'll look forward to installment 3, take care, have FUN!! xx

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb