Ni hau!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
December 23rd 2009
Published: December 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Chinese SantaChinese SantaChinese Santa

Chinese Santa in Marks and Spencers
Ni hao followers!

I have finally arrived in Hong Kong; it’s good to be back in China!
Both my flights were delayed due to the terrible weather, but I think I’m very lucky to have even made it here. I understand you have a fair bit of snow!!! My Edinburgh flights got delayed because they needed to de-ice the plane but “couldn’t find the keys”! There was proper riots going on at Paris due to delayed/ cancelled flights - lots of shouting, swearing and insults towards the French! My actual flight was also entertaining …… I got stuck next to two Chinese men who had smelly feet, burped, snored and openly picked their nose. They also took up half the row. Eh, personal space! It was nice to see Jodie’s friendly face at the other end. She made me a Hong Kong welcome pack, which was so cute and very thoughtful! It only cost £1.80 to get to her University from the airport and it was a good 40 minute bus journey. Public transport is probably about the only cheap thing in HK!

Today was my first proper full day in Hong Kong. I thought every one would speak English, but there’s still a massive language barrier. Not that they should be expected to speak and understand English. All the signposts are in English and Chinese so that’s different from Beijing and makes life a lot easier. I drove past Waterloo Road, Aberdeen and Argyle Street in a taxi today haha. HK is so westernised and even have REAL toilets which is a luxury in China! Jodie and I went to Mong Kok for lunch and to the Ladies Market (which isn’t exclusive to females in case you wondered; it’s just the name of the market). There’s a big obsession about swine flu and its common to see people wear those face masks. They even sell designer swine flu masks e.g. Burberry. There was a swine flu desk as soon as I came off the plane. Apparently if you sneeze you have to get your temperature taken.

We spent the rest of the day planning for our trip to Thailand and sorting out our Christmas celebrations. We are staying in a big house with 15 international students and we all have to cook a meal from our own country, eeeeek!! I don’t even know how to boil an egg so this should be interesting! There’s a massive shopping centre nearby so Jodie and I are going there tomorrow to do some food shopping in Marks and Spencer’s haha. Apparently a lot of European countries celebrate Christmas on Christmas Eve, so I will be celebrating Christmas a day early this year.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



25th December 2009

It sounds and looks like you are having a fab time! Hope you had an enjoyable Christmas day yesterday/today - Merry Christmas! Have a safe flight on Monday! Take care, Ruth xxxx
26th December 2009

Have fun in Romania!!
Merry Christmas Ruth:-) Hope you have a safe flight on Monday too!!! Enjoy Romania and no talking to strangers! Speak soon, I'll look forward to hearing about all your adventures. Take care xXx

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb