Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
July 18th 2009
Published: July 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hong Kong from the waterHong Kong from the waterHong Kong from the water

Picture taken from the Star ferry, so it moved...
After a long night of sleep, I visited the Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery again. But before, I went to see whether the Ikea is the same as in Holland, and it was! Except from the fact that it isn't a blue building on it's own. Here, it's just part of a 20 story high building with the three lowest levels being a furniture shopping mall...

The temperature is very nice, although I am completely sweaty all the time. In combination with the strong air conditioning in the trains and shops etc, I am really glad that I have a scarf for those occasions... Because, although I did not mention it on my health declaration, which I had to fill in on arrival, I do have a bit of a sore throat (due to sitting on a terrace till late in Amsterdam in a T-shirt), and since I am in Hong Kong I have trouble breathing. But the latter is probably due to weird substances in the air. My roommate had the same trouble... Well, as long as I do not have a temperature, I guess I'm fine!

The plan to eat vegetarian Peking duck at the monastery unfortunately didn´t
Consequence of my inexperience in incense burningConsequence of my inexperience in incense burningConsequence of my inexperience in incense burning

Result: hands stained pink due to the pink grips of the incense sticks
go through, because they weren´t serving any food... Too bad. Instead I got some veggie dim sum like thingies later that day. I guess the taste was okay, but the looks of it were not so nice. They also had things like ´roasted chicken kidney´ and other roasted stuff, but it looked so repulsive I passed the chance of tasting some Chinese specialties in their veggie variant.

Later that day, I went to Aberdeen - famous for its harbour - and went on a free boat to the famous floating restaurants. Perhaps it was the weather, because it was softly raining, but I wasn´t amazed by it, although it did look nice.

Returning to the city and going aboard of the Star ferry again, I read a warning for a typhoon of strength 3. It already took 10 minutes before we could leave the ferry after having arrived in the harbour due to the heavy wind and high waves. Back in the hostel I met some people with whom I went out to Lan Kwai Fong (the party area on Hong Kong Island). It already had started raining a bit more serious and when we arrived at Lan Kwai Fong there were almost no people there. Around two pm we tried to get a taxi back to Kowloon. The rain was getting really worse and no taxis were going to Kowloon, even though we offered more and more money to them. They all said that they were regional taxis and could not use the tunnel to Kowloon... But I guess they could just make more money staying at Hong Kong Island and did not want to pay the fee for the tunnel. After about an hour, being soaking wet and cold, we finally had a taxi who wanted to bring us home! The streets were all covered with parts of trees and I really had the feeling I was in the typhoon! When we returned, we found out that Molave was the trouble maker... Actually, I think it is quite funny to have been in a typhoon!





Today, the typhoon has left HK, but the day started with heavy rains... And therefore, I had to make up a plan B. So together with another Dutch girl, I walked across town in the train getting again really wet and ending up in the Science Museum, the
¨Sorry! Not in Service¨¨Sorry! Not in Service¨¨Sorry! Not in Service¨

Who stole this from who? The Chinese from the Dutch or the other way around?
Dutch version of Nemo. The rest of the day just relaxing and waiting for tomorrow; then I will really enter China... Pretty exciting!




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Bamboo scaffoldingBamboo scaffolding
Bamboo scaffolding

Haven´t seen any metal scaffolding around here... whole buildings are packed in bamboo!


Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb