I should have taken my Mandarin lessons very very very seriously!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
April 8th 2009
Published: April 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hong KongHong KongHong Kong

View from the Peak Tower
First (half)Day ...

I am proudly becoming a pro on catching the last minute schedules. We were just on time for the 13:00 Ferry schedule from Macau to Kowloon. We were running again, and I had to show the apologetic face to the rest of the passengers when we finally boarded (hidden meaning: IT'S NOT OUR FAULT, THEY LET US IN!).

It's such a gloomy day ... I don't like it, it makes me sad; it was raining in Macau when we left and I was hoping for a better weather in Hong Kong but noooo! it was gloomy the whole day so we slept the day off ~ exhausted from the walk and walk in Macau anyway. Although we woke up in the middle of the night because we were already starving. So we strolled around in search for food and again, I was hoping on having a chinese meal ~ we ended up in KFC! I saw these streetfoods while walking around, I definitely want to try those.

Anyway, we arrived in Kowloon after 45 minutes of Ferry ride and once again, we had to deal with a non-english speaking driver ~ a nice policeman helped us explain where we were going and we eventually reached our hostel, then we were greeted (once again) by a non-english speaking lady who just kept on speaking chinese even when I told her that I didn't understand her(perhaps she didn't understand me either). I just let her talk anyway, gave her my passport and paid when she showed me numbers in a piece of paper.

We have a private room now, and a private bath!YEEY! And this time, our room smelt ... paint ~ the room looks new actually.

First (full)Day

We spent some time today visiting my old buddy Brad Pitt, my former Laoshi(teacher) Albert Einstein and my ex-boyfriend Jack Sparrow(a.k.a Johnny Depp) in Madame Tussauds at the Peak Tower in Central Hong Kong. So yeah ... we explored that side of Hong Kong a little bit. Also, we went to the Avenue of the (Chinese)Stars which was by the Victoria Harbour. It wasn't much but it was cool to check out ... something new.

Their subway system is kinda cool and easy to understand; I guess we're okay with Hong Kong now ~ it's just hard to find public toilets!

Avenue of the StarsAvenue of the StarsAvenue of the Stars

Victoria Harbour
... and the next day

Disneyland! We went today and spent most of the time standing in long lines for the rides and photo ops. Pffff! I loved the Golden Mickey's(like the Golden Globes thingy) because my favorite Beauty and the Beast performed in there, and the cutie cutie Stitch Interactive Encounter, and I so loved the fireworks too!(disney movies OSTs as background music.Lovely!). The rest just proved the fact that I'm no kiddo anymore. Another bummer was that the Lion King show was under some kind of Maintenance!

After the "magical journey" in the Disney world, we tried the streetfoods that caught my attention last monday. The hardest part was how to buy them. I started with "How much is this?" and the vendor went "%!$(MISSING)#*@&$^#&#*#"(Speaking Chinese);and I go "I don't understand", she goes "*&%!@(MISSING)#_!". Who knew if they were cursing me already?!LOLS. They couldn't/wouldn't speak english at all and they were also not very good with hand gestures to our dismay. After struggling for some time, I finally found a way to get my streetfood; I just pointed which ones I like then show my fingers how many I wanted ... tadaaan! I got my 66 Dollars worth of streetfood! They're good, just a bit salty! and they're inside my stomach now. If there's any side effect on eating them altogether, I'm yet to know.

Going home soon ...

The streetfood might have caused this all day long stomach rumbling but it wasn't as bad as I expected and I was ready with medication (hah!)

The Ocean Park was our destination for today. The whole place was in a major re-construction!, so we missed alot of shows. The huge overhead aquarium was even in Maintenance ~ sad ~ I wanted to see that. The place was crowded still and anyway, I enjoyed the dolphin/sea lion show alot, they looked so smart and adorable. I enjoyed the acrobatic show lots too! The stunts looked amazing!

... and we finally had our Chinese food for dinner! YAY!

Last (full) Day ...

Of course we can't miss shopping! We had to buy pasalubong for the family and friends! We went to the Mong Kok Ladies Market(not to worry, there are lots of Men's items in there too). For the first time, I bargained and bargained and bargained! hahahah! I can't do this back home so it was funny 'cause they seem to get irritated when I bargain too much; my sister was even complaining with my bargaining!HAHAHAHHA! They won't see me again anyway, not in a year atleast. I was just shocked when I saw a saleslady slap a poor indian-looking lady's arm when the latter asked to try alot of items and decided not to buy a single one.

It was the Easter Holiday too, so the mall boutiques where also on SALE! We just couldn't miss that.hehe...and then we had another chinese dinner in the Mall where we met two Bisaya ladies, Ate Lily and Ate Cheri who have been working in Hong Kong for more than two decades. We chatted with them for hours then they had to leave since it was getting late already.

We now have a collection of phone numbers and email addresses from overseas Filipino workers and random people who offered to contact them if ever we decide to come back again. Exhausting! but I learned lots if new things and I have talked to alot of people ~ this, I'm still trying to get used to ... talking (most of
Ferry to Central Hong KongFerry to Central Hong KongFerry to Central Hong Kong

We met these kids(and their Filipina nanny) on the way to Central Hongkong. The older kid was like "sure, you can take as much photo as you like". But the little one was a bit shy.
them probably won't see me again anyway).

Cheers!







Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

My BodyguardMy Bodyguard
My Bodyguard

...buying tickets @ Madame Tussauds
We had a hard time finding a place to eat in Central HKWe had a hard time finding a place to eat in Central HK
We had a hard time finding a place to eat in Central HK

We found this place that serves good Western Food and has an owner(cashier) who speaks perfect English!Yay!
HS MusicalHS Musical
HS Musical

Fantasyland
AutolandAutoland
Autoland

Tomorrowland


Tot: 0.344s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 25; qc: 129; dbt: 0.1348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb