Hong Kong - Leaving China


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
September 25th 2008
Published: September 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hong Kong sky-lineHong Kong sky-lineHong Kong sky-line

From the Star ferry
I take the overnight train to Nanjing, but still have no joy renewing my VISA, so book a flight to Hong Kong for the following day - my first flight of the trip!

What can I say about Hong Kong? It's kind of 'New York meets Beijing'. All the affluence of a large Western city, with all the hubbub, street vendors and fake rolexes of East Asia. I liked it. The onyl problem was that, unless you're making or spending loads of money, there's not loads to do.

I explored Nathan Road in all its neon splendour and took the Star ferry across Victoria Harbour, taking in the amazing sky-scraper-lined sky-line of Hong Kong Island. I wandered around both the very exclusive boutique shopping malls of IFC1 and the back-street markets, marvelling at the disparity of wealth.

After 3 days in Hong Kong, and almost 8 weeks in China as a whole, I flew to Bangkok.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Neon Heaven/HellNeon Heaven/Hell
Neon Heaven/Hell

Nathan Road
More artMore art
More art

Sculpture atI FC1
Hong Kong tramHong Kong tram
Hong Kong tram

Amonst the sky-scrapers
Mirador MansionsMirador Mansions
Mirador Mansions

The exterior view of my 'hotel'.


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb