Hong Kong Phooey


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
January 22nd 2008
Published: January 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Pretty effortless flight and were finally here in HK, me for a second time. Only problem is this time were in a skanky dive of a hostel over run with Indians trying to sell me suits and "genuine fake watches".

Despite catching peasant wagon to Nathan Road on our own we managed with no worries finding the hotel. We were due to meet the manager at the bus stop and he warned us to be carefull of the Indians trying to get us to take their rooms and to ignore everyone but himself.

First person I meet, Indian, second I meet is a Chinese trying to get us to go to his hotel, I am literally about to snap and tell him where to f*****g go when he tells me that he is the father of the manager-lucky I bit my tongue me thinks.

Next problem-despite reserving the room online with my card, they dont actually take plastic fantastic so we have to go and get 3 squillion HK dollars to pay for it.

Job done and we go to the room. I have taken a video of the room and will see about uploading it somewhere to show people how small it really was. The beds looked like they came straight from the operating theatre of the local hospital! Ant then there was the view, straight at another block of buildings and then down below is where the natives clearly seem to have shovelled their waste. Cats screaming and howling troughout the night, presumably fighting over the million and one rats.

A big error we made, being cream crackered we went straight to bed and failed to wake up until about 2200, oh how we failed to sleep that night at all. Still, we had an amazing meal in a restaurant-seafood in a mayo sauce and Lucy's traditional fried slugs-or aubergine and mushrooms or some such gubbins.

Tomorrow, another stamp in the passport for Macau. For the rest of this evening we pack our bags for tomorrow and hydrate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0132s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb