HK part1


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
November 24th 2006
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

Well got back from Hong Kong last Wednesday. No-one told me it was rainy season!!! But all was wellJ When I first arrived, I had a few hours to wonder around nearby the. I discovered a $10 store (that's less than AUD$2!), and it's so much better. Almost like Reject Shop or Go-Lo, but still much better. There was so much baking stuff, and Sanrio things.

Walked to Tsuen Wan (I love attempting to say the words hehehe) MTR station and rode it to Admiralty to change to Causeway Bay. Everything is so straight forward, easy to follow. All the directions are also translated into English, even the speaker on the MTR. I'm sure if I rode it often I would also be able to memorize all the stops along the way in their language hehehe just like my train trips to work :P

Ate lunch at Tsui Wan Restaurant. It's a small place, people pretty much just go there to socialize and smoke. Yet it's so weird, that I came out not smelling like cigarettes, unlike when I come out of clubs! Anyway ordering was fun - they had to get an interpreter, who was still having a few problems understanding. Even started pointing at the pictures already hehehe

Wow, I could have gone crazy in this place- not only were there so many stores to choose from, but all so incredibly CHEAP!

Would you believe the first place I bought something in was in a supermarket? You know me, I love these places; it's called Wellcome (trust me it was very welcoming hehehe). Oh yea before I forget, I took a photo on my camera phone of a little sign on the table at the restaurant, it said "Iced water is not COVILPLIMENTARY!" So anyway at the supermarket I bought 1kg pack of rolled oats and cereal (so much cheaper here - hey! You guys may be laughing now, but I think its money well spent :P) also I found Kit-Kat: Dark Noir, yummmmmmy!

Then I went to The Commercial Press (Book Centre). This is where I bought something on each of the 4 floors hehehe. Guess what, I bought 2 more cookbooks for myself! And yes I can understand the instructions quite well, because it also translates it into English underneath. They are: Distinctive Snacks of Hong Kong, and Japanese Bread.

As I walked around, I discovered more and more hidden streets with markets. HA…think they can hide from me :P I don't think sooooooo 😉 I did only buy a couple of items here though, just for jogging and stuff - you know so I don't have to use my nice ones. So I bought a few sports bras, a couple of singlet tops, and a cap that has Hong Kong embroidered onto it (which I will cut out and sew onto my Samsonite bag.

All of a sudden it was getting late. Where did the time fly??? I did however get to Times Square, just to go in and ride up the escalator then down again - crazy huh?!? It was exciting let me tell you :P

After Café de Coral returned to SOGO and went down the supermarket, where I found - Kit-Kat: Fruit Parfait! Wohoooooo…

Caught the MTR to Tai Wo Hau, I figured it would be quicker to get of there since it looked closer on the map than the other station. Sure enough, as soon as you gett out of the station, you could clearly see the big painted panda on the side of the hotel J


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb