HK Art Gallery and Space Museum


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My first full day in Hong Kong I decide to go to these museums are the weather forcast was cloud with rain. Thought I would stay dry and get the boring stuff out of the way first. The MRT is right next to my hotel and it was only two stops and a short 5min walk to get there. The best thing about Hong Kong apart from the food is that the tourist places are well sign posted on every street corner. Its also colour co ordinated making it a doddle and very difficult to get lost. It also makes a change from trying to follow the occasional sign in chinese or trying not to get street names confused.
Went to the space museum first. It was $10 to enter. The currency is similar to china. about 14to15 dollars to one pound. The exibitions were welll layed out and I enjoyed walking about trying all the interactive features. The best was a hang gliding machine that i went on. After I got off I found I had a big audience who had watched me crash into the mountains upteen times. I just couldnt get the hang of it.
They also had an artifical gravity machine. Went to go on it, but I was to tall. The hieght limit was 180cm max. I was five centimeters to tall. Who says size doesnt matter. Was very disspaointed by that. Overall the museum was very good. It kept my intrest and was very informative.
The art gallery next door to the space museum. After visiting art galleries in Beijing and Shanghai, I think i'm becoming an expert on chinese art. Lots of porcelin, caligraphy and the usual stuff. All well made and intersting, but after you seen a few your seen them all really. The museum itself was well laid out andthe staff freindly and helpful. I just didnt have the intrest to spend to long there.
At the back of bothe museums is the waterfront where the star ferry departs from. I took a walk across the harbour as by that time the clouds had moved on(for a little while at least)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb