Sunday - boring stuff and out with Bhavisha


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
September 20th 2014
Published: September 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Sleep seems to elude me as yet again I seem to be sharing a dorm with noisy Asian people, this time it seemed to be the boys who were noisy. Three of them kept coming and going for some reason and the girls taking showers etc seemed to take forever to sort themselves out, but finally by 1am things settled down finally!



In the morning the boys left at an ok ish time so I waited until they had gone and the girls before I hit the shower. I had no plans for the day other than mooching around the shops. I could have done some sight seeing but I really wasn't in the mood and I had arranged to meet Bhavisha at 4pm.



I tried to do my online checkin for my flight the next day but the system didn't recognise by booking. As it was an amended flight I was a bit worried it hadn't gone through so checked with the travel agent but they confirmed all was ok and that it was probably a computer glitch.



I did some shopping for the basic essentials, got some food and cash and an hours kip before I had to head out and meet Bhavisha. I decided to,leave a bit earlier as there was a march/demonstration or something going on, but not of the scale I saw last time I was in Hong Kong. I think Sunday must be protest day lol. Surprisingly though I had no issues getting there and followed the instructions of where to meet Bhavisha. As I was early I nipped into McDonalds for a brew, a nice English cup,of tea with milk (not frothy or with added sugar lol).



So I went to the appointed place at appointed time and waited, and waited, and waited but no Bhavisha! So,I headed back to McDonald to use the wifi but I couldn't connect so I went back to meeting point A waited a bit longer and then moved to meeting point B, but still no show. I found a Starbucks with free wifi and I had just sent her a message when she appeared very apologetic. It seems she had given me the right directions and meeting point, but she had got it wrong lol and had got her shopping centres mixed up bless her.



Still all was well and we did some window shopping and I bought a couple of souvenirs from my trip to Hong Kong. We then decided to go to the bank of China building which has a tower which you can go up free of charge so we went to get a view of the city from there, however it's closed on Sundays! Bugger!!! Oh well I saw a great view of the Shanghai skyline so I'm sure they all start to look the same lol.



We took the tube one stop to the area where Bhavisha's hotel is located. We nipped in to the M&S, well it would be rude not to lol and bought some goodies :-) and then went to see the series of escalators, walkways and stairs which go up one of the hills and connects two districts of Hong Kong. Is called Central–Mid-Levels escalator and walkway system and is the longest outdoor covered escalator system in the world. The Central–Mid-Levels escalator and walkway system in Hong Kong is the longest outdoor covered escalator system in the world. The entire system covers over 800 metres (2,600 ft) in distance and elevates over 135 metres (443 ft) from bottom to top. It was constructed in 1993 to provide a better commute by linking areas within the Central and Western District on Hong Kong Island.



We didn't go all the way up as we stopped for food on the way, Mexican! It's the best food I've tasted in a long while and wasn't burgers or pizza lol. After food we had a wander and then went for a drink in a bar located on a busy intersection and chatted. Then it was time for me to head back to the subway. Bhavisha came with me and we said our goodbyes as I was heading off to japan and she would be heading to Thailand in a couple of days.



The trip back to the hostel was uneventful and my nights sleep was ok but the locals do like to go to bed late round these here parts lol.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 39; dbt: 0.099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb