Happy Friday


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
February 1st 2013
Published: February 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Happy Friday everyone! I can't believe it is Feb 1?? Where did Jan go? It has been close to a month since I have arrived in Hong Kong. I got my HKID - which is HOng Kong Idenfitication card on Tuesday. It was actually a decent experience, the vendor I am working with through my companies Global Mobility program set up the appointment with me and came with me to help through the process. I had heard horror stories of the wait time and the process. We walked in, got a number, went straight to the 1st desk where they review your application, take your thumb prints ( electornically) and your picture ( all of 5 mins) moved to the next section , where they stamp your document, take your thumb print again, ask you a question and give you a paper copy of your card and inform you in 14 days you can pick up the official card. The whole process took about 15 mins... 😊 Besides it being easier to get utilities and open accounts in Hong Kong, when I travel in and out, i can use the express service in the immigration line and go in/out without having to wait in the huge , long vistors line- yahoo!!!!

I don't want to jinx it but I am 99% all good with my apartmet, lease has been signed by all parties, now just waiting for the money payment to move to the landlord and then I can have the keys to move in, fingers crossed - I could be in by Feb 7th- before Chinese New Year, if it is after the 7th, I have to wait till Feb 14th because no one will be available during Chinese New Year. I am going to go looking at beds this weekend and a few of the furniture stores to get ideas, it is hard though because I really can't give a delivery date just yet.. UGH. Looking forward to the weekend to do the shopping and to relax a bit, work has been very hectic and there is a lot going on. I can't believe how quickly Debbie and Mike's wedding is coming up- soon I will be home for a short visit 😊

If i do anything exciting or find some fun furniture or stores, I will post some pics on the blog. In the meantime, I will add to this entry the pics just of the apartment I am moving into so everyone can see it 😊



Peace out,

Sue


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb