I Love Hong Kong! I Love Democracy!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
July 1st 2006
Published: July 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I visited Hong Kong Island during the midst of their pro democracy rally. A 10 word history lesson - Hong Kong was returned to China on June 30, 1997. Today was their rally to protest against the appointment of public officials by the Chinese government. Thus, I love Hong Kong! I love democracy! was the theme of the day.

I can't believe how many people showed up. Of course, I'm speaking from a Canadian perspective, a Calgarian perspective where not a lot of protests are successful. The entire Victoria Park was filled with people as young as 3 years old to 99 years old.

I spent the majority of the day in the hot hot heat again so I'm feeling mildly lethargic, slight bouts of nausea and dehydrated. I think I have a mild case of heat stroke, jet lag and culture shock so I should watch out for that. Otherwise, I visited Causeway Bay today and there's just so many peope and shops everywhere!

I've included some pictures that I have been promising but haven't delivered, they are all located at www.flickr.com (look for theanneimal) otherwise, the highlights are located here.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb