Girl's Night in Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
May 14th 2010
Published: May 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Before we started to danceBefore we started to danceBefore we started to dance

Kelly, Me, Staci & Cali
Friday, after teaching Pete and I went to get our teeth cleaned at the dentist since it only costs 150 RMB=$21.96 per person. Which we won't be able to find in the states and we badly needed it since we had our teeth cleaned by Brooke, my sister, in July. I don't think I have ever gone that long without getting my teeth cleaned. I also decided to get my teeth bleached as it was much cheaper again than the states. I have to go back one more time in a few weeks for the second treatment.

After the dentist experience I was off to Hong Kong with Cali, Kelly and Staci for a Ladies Night in HK thanks to Pete as a birthday present to me for paying for the hostel at Yesinn. It took us almost 3 hours from Futian to Fortress Hill on Hong Kong Island as the immigration lines were long on the China side exiting. Only 2 immigration officers on Friday night around 5:30pm. We then stopped at the Duty Free liqour store to by a bottle of vodka to share before we went out in Lan Kwai Fong.

Once we arrived at the hostel we were all hungry and decided to get Indian food at a restaurant that 3 of us couples ate at for NYE. It was great food and nice on the budget; dinner included soup, vegetable samosas, one curry dish, rice or naan bread and a drink for 65HKD=$8.33. After dinner we headed to 7-11 next door to buy mixers for the vodka and Staci was brilliant suggesting we buy snack food for when we got home from the clubs/bars.

Back up to the room we went around 9pm and were laying around full from the food and tired from our 3 hour trek to Hong Kong. I was a little worried we wouldn't even make it out for the night but we rallied and started off with some mix drinks and then Cali suggested we all take a shot. Some of us took a whole shot while others took half shots, which was still ok.

We went down to get on the MTR(subway) around 11pm and headed to Central. Us 4 girls had never gone out on our own as we always did things as couples, except for our massages 3 weeks back planned by the guys. We climbed up the steep hill on which all the bars and clubs are situated on in Lan Kwai Fong and decided which place to venture into first.

1st stop, don't even know the name of the club, but it was a HUGE success. The cover was 100 HKD=$12.82 to get in and included a drink. We were like OK, but it is hard to spend that kind of money when we are used to 4 and 5 RMB beers in Shenzhen. We asked to doorman since there were 4 of us girls if we could get a discount. He said if we went to the side bar on the outside of the club to buy a drink he would let us in for free. SWEET!!!

We walked less than 10 steps to the open bar to the street and ordered ourselves 55-65HKD drinks and in we went with our drinks ready to check out the scene. There was a live band playing cover music of hip hop songs and we danced for a long time...I don't even know what time it was but the band took 2 breaks while we were there dancing.

Next we decided to see what else there was and ended up at The Keg across the street(pedestrian only street). Kelly, Kris, Pete and I had a few beers there on NYE. We ordered 4 beers that were on special and found a place to relax our feet. A man approached us and wanted to buy us shots, so we accepted and cheers to free shots of Kamikaze's. We must have been there too long as the place was closing down and we were kicked out.

3rd stop, don't know the name, we didn't even get drinks as the long was long while I waited for drinks and weird men were talking to Cali, Kelly and Staci they got mad at the guy's comments and wanted to leave. OK with me no need to hang out or get harassed by drunken men since we all had loved ones back in China.

4th and final stop, again don't know the name of this bar, we walked in got a place to sit and I was the only one to order a drink, white wine. I was pretty drunk by now but do remember that I asked the bartender what the cheapest drink was and he laughed at me. Oh well always trying to save money, not a bad thing. I believe I was the only one that danced and then we decided it was time to go home.

We got a cab back to the hostel as the MTR had closed already. Once we got in the cab the man didn't speak English but we had the business card for the hostel with the address in Cantonese for him to read along with a map.

Hong Kong is truly an international city as you can hear many languages while some of the locals and most of the cab drivers don't speak English, only Cantonese, not even Mandarin.

It started to rain really hard before we made it to the hostel but luckily the cab driver dropped us off right out front of the hostel gate. We ran in and got to our room safely. It was now 5am. WOW we danced the night away and had a GREAT time. We all ate our snacks that Staci suggested we buy earlier. Nice thinking Staci.

Staci told me the next morning the only thing I remember before I went to bed was Elyse saying "I am spinning I need to eat more." Nice, we all got a good laugh from that as I was on the top bunk.

We were awoken to the sound of a cell phone at 9am as Pete and Martin were making their way(seperately) to Hong Kong to spend Saturday and Sunday with Staci and I. Again the cell phone rang at 10:30, it was Pete saying the immigration line took forever and he would be later than expected. YES more sleep for us and we all were still tired and probably hung over. Cali and Kelly went back to Shenzhen when we checked out of the hostel on Saturday around 12pm.

Thanks to my 3 great friends who were strangers until 9.5 months ago. I had a great time and you ladies were so cute saying it was my bachelorette party since we all won't be together after June 9th 😞((((


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 79; dbt: 0.0838s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb