Hong Kong: My first impressions


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
September 11th 2009
Published: September 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Even though I was feeling woozy and tired from the 15 hr flight (that I thought was 10 - don't ask )- I was still struck by how similar, yet different HK is.

It is sort of like Britian ("Alight", "the lift" and 'Mind the gap are words I haven't heard since I went to London two years ago), a bit of 'Asia lite' and a little bit of Canada - except the 'minority' and 'majority' groups have changed.

I was also struck by the smells - and I don't mean in a bad way - the lights, and sounds. Even though Toronto is a large city, it's pretty quiet in comparison. I was on the MTR last night and I could barely hear the notifications from the train conductor as everyone was speaking pretty much at the top of their lungs. Usually I'm annoyed by this, but I'm not in Kansas anymore, so I better pay attention to signs and stuff.

Altogether, Hong Kong seems like 'Organized Chaos' - Not Chaos like Naples or Kingston - and not overly organized like Berlin. It seems like somewhere you you have to pick up the rhythm and just move along with it. I'm liking it so far.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb