I'm not sure I should start in a place where the main pass time is shopping!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
September 27th 2005
Published: September 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Well I've arrived in Hong Kong to spend a few days with Conor before Andy joins me on route to New Zealand. I'm having a fantastic time so far.

It was a pretty long flight to get here but the 11 hours weren't as bad as I expected and I did sleep a little which is just as well given that Saturday was a long day!! Conor and Rita were playing in a hockey tournament so I went to support and we went straight from there to a bbq and out for the night. It was fun dancing in the rain outside Stormies in a T3 (their typhoon rating - T3 rain and wind didn't seem much worse than a typical day in Ireland!).

Sunday morning I was woken for dim sum lunch (Julie found some veggie options for me), followed by bowling at the yacht club. Rita brought Conor and I out for a Thai meal that was fantastic in a secret place that we can't tell anyone about in case it becomes popular. Then home for a video and 'early' night at around 1.30 (yawn).

Yesterday and today have been dominated by shopping which I am going to have to post home so I don't have to carry it on all the treks we have planned. I took the tram up to the peak as well today but the weather isn't great (still storm warnings). I got caught in the rain in the victoria peak gardens and got completely soaked but you dry quickly hear (so don't worry about me getting a cold mom!). The views from the top were incredible - I can't believe how vertical this place is. I don't really find it claustrophobic as you can always see the edge of the buildings but it is so incredibly populated it is amazing.

Hockey tonight - first time playing in about 6 years so it should be funny.

I'll work out how to put photos on this soon so you can all see the photos (gran - sorry I'm not in any of them yet but as I am taking them there is no choice).



Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb