A New Beginning


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Wan Chai
June 23rd 2011
Published: June 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Poo Ice creamPoo Ice creamPoo Ice cream

I always thought about this looking at frostys
Hey Everybody!

My name is Nate. N-A-T-E. I had been writing about my experiences living abroad in Mainland China for about a year and half. The last time I wrote was nearly a year ago. It's time to finally bring closure and start another chapter in my life.

I was so naive and eager to explore 2 years ago when I first arrived in China. I can't believe the time has passed so quickly. Paltry words fail to express the ways in which China has changed my life. So I could never bring myself to write the final passage of my Chinese blog. How to describe what I didn't know how to articulate. And could this be the end? finished? Certainly NOT. This story, and the story of my life, is just beginning.

Since my last blog I traveled the Himalayan foothills, made friends in Taiwan, returned to the USA, worked as a satellite tech in Toledo Ohio, returned to China for a month in April 2011, and moved to Oakland California for Graduate School where I'm currently getting my masters in Industrial Psychology. Another slow couple of months. I'll get out more this year.

The blog
lijiang at nightlijiang at nightlijiang at night

I told you it was pretty
you've been reading has been as accurate as I wanted it to be... I really tried to keep the blog as light-hearted yet genuine as possible. The truth is if you fail to laugh at your struggles you will never get far in this life. So through that lens I will share with you a couple short stories that didn't make the cut.

There were girls I dated before Carmen. First girl I ever dated in China we went on 3 dates. On the 4th date she proposed. Seriously. Told me she could wait the rest of her life for me. This was 3 weeks into living in China, tops. Well that was the end of that, but it was a certainly a new idea to me. Could I get married on a whim, sure. "Hey mom I know I just got to China but I'm engaged" "Send money".

I can remember the first night in my apartment in China as clear as most remember 9/11. My roomie was a strange chain smoking expat who had less in common with me than the Chinese. My room had no A/C in 100 degree weather with 98% humidity and there
Front of HotelFront of HotelFront of Hotel

also in lijiang I believe, maybe Dali.
were 2 inch cockroaches roaming about the walls of the bathroom and I had diarrhea. I was laying on a mattress as comfortable as cardboard looking out barred windows into a starless night sky. I had just left the happiest year of my life in beautiful Madison Wisconsin where I absolutely had fallen in love with the city and my friends. I thought "what the f*** am I doing" and cried.

I remember being a minority, a very small minority. There are times where you forget you are different. Your close friends don't act differently around you, but you can't escape it for long. I can remember somewhere in the middle of it all looking at pictures of myself with my friends. Thinking, "Jesus who is that guy". No matter how long I could have lived in China, no matter how good my Chinese or what my passport could have read, I would always be a gwailo. Literally the "ghost man" in reference to my white skin. You can't escape it. I'm not saying I felt discriminated against, although I certainly was at times, just that being different altered every part of my daily life.

After I left TPR, right before I was to come home I was courted by a school that was putting together a production of English singing concerts. They wanted me to tour China with them putting on musical learning concerts for students. They offered me a lot of money, and I seriously considered it. But I can't sing, I think they would have canned me after the first show.

I remember landing in San Francisco 9 months ago. Walking through downtown and trying to come to grips with a world I felt I knew but was now completely different. I remember going as quickly as I could to Chinatown to find "normalcy". I remember speaking Chinese to anyone who would listen. I remember feeling completely overwhelmed. I remember wandering into a Church for the first time in a long time and saying a prayer, thinking, "what the f*** am I doing" and cried.

It's amazing and funny to think about it all. I loved and love China. I have many more stories I want to tell you, but I can't tell you. Somethings you just can't publish. However if you meet me please ask me about running into the girl who
Guest RoomGuest RoomGuest Room

Our room in lijiang in the foothill of the himilayas.
proposed. Ask me to tell you about the full story about my passport. Ask me about needing to go to the emergency room in international waters. Ask about the "fans" of my blog. Ask me about my life with the CCP. Ask me about the US corporal living in my apartment in Zhongshan. Buy me a few drinks sometime, then buy me a few more, and just ask me.

I dedicate this blog to my family. My family, my biggest fans, thank you. I know my mom just wanted to make sure I didn't kill myself, but your positivity about my writing kept me working to preserve these memories. Thank you so much.

I am considering starting a new blog. I guess this is kinda fun. I hope you'll consider tuning in. Until then, my love and thanks is with you all. Zai Jian.



Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Guest RoomGuest Room
Guest Room

Our room in lijiang in the foothill of the himilayas.
Front of HotelFront of Hotel
Front of Hotel

also in lijiang I believe, maybe Dali.
rooftopsrooftops
rooftops

rooftops in the city of lijiang
Poo PlatterPoo Platter
Poo Platter

haha, tastes like .......
walkwaywalkway
walkway

the city of lijiang is really really really old, and fantastically beautiful
lijianglijiang
lijiang

nice right?
fruit?fruit?
fruit?

some bright and red, and not delicious
lijiang temple?lijiang temple?
lijiang temple?

I can't see this picture so I'm guessing
Jade Snow MountainJade Snow Mountain
Jade Snow Mountain

Rising 21 thousand feet behind this lake is jade snow mountain, isn't it beautiful in the heavy unobservable cloud cover..
Yak YogurtYak Yogurt
Yak Yogurt

I kid you not, this stuff was stellar
lijiang food marketlijiang food market
lijiang food market

deliciousness
green stuffgreen stuff
green stuff

I can't remember
lijiang at nightlijiang at night
lijiang at night

more pretty stuff
Bath tableBath table
Bath table

Aunt Ann, this is the restaurant you told me about when I was living in China. I had the chance to actually go when I was staying in Taiwan, its hilariously great, good find!


23rd June 2011

Hi Nate,
Just realized you are back from China and living near us. We are currently in Larkspur, Ca. Maybe we can hook up sometime.
23rd June 2011

Good to have you back!
I always enjoyed reading your entries...it is good to have you blogging again....Love the stories and the pictures. I will definitely feed you drinks sometime and get the rest of the adventures! Thanks for sharing. Love, Lyn
24th June 2011

larkspur, wow that is close! yeah anytime
27th June 2011

I...
love you. You are awesome. I miss you.
28th June 2011

love you too. YOU are awesome. miss you and hope life is well Ross
28th June 2011

It's great to hear from you!
Nate, It's so great to have you blogging again and I'm so glad your found the "toilet" restaurant! Who could imagine! It a promise that the next time we are all together, we will make sure your have some drinks so you can fill us in on the unprintable adventures! So glad you are settled in California now and started your stateside adventure! Love, Aunt Ann
4th August 2011

great job!
Hey there Nate. You write well. You travel well. Wishing you a lifetime of both. Madison is always here, but just so you know that even now I'm sitting here thinking (and sometimes crying) "what the heck am I doing!" Time for me to travel again! your old (and getting older) MTTP classmate, Kathryn
14th August 2011

Kathryn, Great to hear from you, I hope all is well my worldly traveling friend. I know, I need to keep moving or I'll start to go a little crazy soon, everyday a new adventure. Take care and stay safe
5th March 2014

Miss u

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb