The place to visit!


Advertisement
Georgia's flag
Asia » Georgia » Tbilisi District
September 1st 2017
Published: September 1st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Everyone is talking about Georgia of late, and it's a privilege to join the summer hordes exploring the country, along with eight million or so of my closest friends! Although the distances in Europe are not vast between countries, booking flights is often problematic as it's rare to purchase a ticket without a stopover on the continent. Often the better part of a day is taken up at airports, so you can imagine my delight at being able to secure a direct flight from Odessa across the Black Sea to Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia. It was an effortless two hour commute, and though Georgia is technically part of Asia the country feels very much European from arrival at the airport. I was able to snaffle a taxi to the hostel for a not overly exorbitant price, and am delighted to become ensconced in the world class Fabrka Hostel and Suites, one of the best hostels I've had the pleasure of staying in.

I checked in, dumped the bags in the pristine dorm with firm beds and pressed linen, and headed downstairs for my first evening at the pumping bar and restaurant. Fabrika is a massive complex, and there must have been close to two hundred people enjoying a balmy evening in the huge courtyard behind the building. Tourists are everywhere, and it sure feels different from visiting Odessa. I find travel stimulating and interesting because of the sudden changes experienced between countries. It never ceases to amaze me that after stepping off the plane, it's like you've entered another world! I believe it's important to maintain a sense of equilibrium in order to be a successful traveller, and have the knack of making quick adjustments depending on the circumstances of each country. But if there are any real adjustments to be made in Georgia, they're of the how good is this variety! The government is committed to developing tourism in the country, and it's a wise move because the country has so much to offer.

Georgia showcases beautiful and historic cities, stunning scenery in the Caucasus mountains, mineral springs, Black Sea resort towns, fine dining and world renowned wine for your enjoyment. All of this comes at prices you can only dream about in the popular Western European destinations. The Georgians have a natural charm and warmth about them, and English is taught as a second language at schools, making it easy to get by when talking to young people. The Georgians I met seem committed to the European Union as the key to their collective future, and resolved to turn their backs on Russia, despite the historic ties between the countries during the Soviet era. I spent three days in Tbilisi, and wandered around at my leisure in the beautiful capital. There's plenty to see and do in the capital, with the area around the funicular a particular highlight. The Peace Bridge linking the Old Town with the New Town across the river is lit up spectacularly at night, Tourists should visit at night as it's a real treat to check out the dancing lights on this architectural marvel.

I was strolling around one day, and found myself drawn in to a tourist office after noticing the signs out front. I didn't have a plan when I entered the store, but sure had one by the time I left! I signed up for an all day tour of the beautiful Caucasus mountains, and it was a terrific experience. As a solo traveller I was squeezed in to the front of the van between the driver and the guide for the day, as a full group headed out of Tbilisi to take in the mountain scenery on the Kazbegi tour, including visits to many churches and monasteries along the way. Once the van crested the top of the pass at over 2500 metres the views are spectacular, with dramatic peaks as far as the eye can see. A highlight of the tour is a 4wd drive only bumpy ride to the mountain peak to visit the Holy Trinity monastery, which was founded in the 14th century. The monastery is beautiful and the views from the summit in every direction are enough to take your breath away. We enjoyed a late lunch around 4:00pm at a local family restaurant, and the food kept on coming. The tour group had ravenous appetites having not eaten all day and made the most of a wonderful meal. The tour is a terrific day in the Caucasus mountains, featuring unforgettable scenery in the high country.

I boarded a train to Batumi for a three day visit, to enjoy the famous resort town on the Black Sea, and legendary holiday spot for locals and foreigners. The train is new and immaculately maintained, with a police presence ensuring the safety and security of the passengers. It takes around five hours to travel the 380 kilometres from the capital, and a taxi driver was almost inside the train as soon as we arrived at the station. I checked in to the family friendly Batumi Surf hostel, and after dropping my bags I headed out for an initial explore of the city in no time at all. I expected a beach and a cruisy feel to the city and was not disappointed, but Batumi offers so much more. There is beautiful architecture, plazas, parks, beach esplanades; all of which are immaculately maintained and designed with elegance and style. When it comes down to it the city is a total knockout!

The next morning I started my day on the beach. Interestingly Batumi is a rock beach, but there are lounge chairs aplenty on offer for just a few dollars The water itself is warmer than the Black Sea town of Odessa, and you can just laze around in the water for ages. I spent my mornings at the beach, relaxed over a leisurely lunch, and then spent the afternoons exploring the city with camera in hand. The people are relaxed and friendly, the food is superb, and the city is as pretty as a picture. I wish I had more time to relax in this magical resort town, but enjoyed my visit regardless. I was up early for a 7:30am train ride back to Tbilisi, where I looked forward to a final night at the superb Fabrika Hostel. The staff greeted me like a long lost friend, enquiring about my visit to Batumi and welcoming me back to the capital. Georgia has been an absolute delight, and I've enjoyed my visit immensely. Come to think of it, basically all of you should be here now!


"Only I can change my life. No one can do it for me." Carol Burnett


As I continue my travels, until next time it's signing off for now

Tom

Note: Feel free to post comments on this site, or click on the subscribe button for notification of upcoming travel journals


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



3rd September 2017

8 million of your closest friends
You always make us smile. Nice intro. Dave and I share your love of the changing environment, the stimulation created and our adaptability to the new situation we find ourselves in. We love the similarities and contrast. Looks like you saw a good smattering of towns, cities, churches -- new and old. Glad they have an infrastructure that can assist world wanderers. Happy travels.
18th September 2017

Camera
Just wondering what type of camera you use? Is it possible to give me the make and model? How many megapixels does it and and what is the optical zoom on it? Your pictures are really nice and I need to buy a camera.
18th September 2017

Camera
Hi, I use a Canon EOS600 DSLR mainly with an 18-55mm lens, but I also carry a telephoto lens. It's an 8 megapixel camera.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb