Experience Winter at Georgia


Advertisement
Georgia's flag
Asia » Georgia » Tbilisi District
June 13th 2018
Published: October 16th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Eid Holidays gives me time to update and awaken something that I started 4 years ago.

This time I'll be sharing my 1st winter experience....Snowfall at first sight 😊

Flashback to last December 2017, one of the bravest thing I did was to booked a plane ticket and celebrated my 29th birthday in Georgia. Many might think that I was referring for the state in America. But nope, It is somewhere between Europe and Asia (EurAsia) along with the Caucasus Mountain. So, for us working in the Middle East, Georgia has been the famous getaway place in any of the 4 seasons. Roughly only 4 hours direct flight from Doha (ooooppss,, location update my last blog entry I was still in Oman now I changed my work location) never-mind guys!. and almost 7 hours if with layover in Turkey. I opt for Turkish Airlines, as I am a self confessed lakwacherang kuripot..lols. 2 way ticket cost me around 370 USD, 2 months ahead of my travel date. Visa Free for those holding GCC permit or permanent ID. My flight has a layover for almost 3 hours in Turkey (for those who prefer longer lay over, you might want to grab the free city Turkish tour offered by the airline itself. Just inquire the information desk to assist you further).

Tbilisi International airport is very small, as I stepped out from my flight I easily locate my assigned airport pick-up c/o Jemali Tour guide (based in Mtshketa). My accommodation and tour was booked in advance by my colleague who also joined and followed my Georgia vacation a day after. I was welcomed by the cold wind as it is the beginning of winter in the country. Some said that If we were lucky we will be able to see the very first snowfall of the season..which indeed I experienced on my exact birthday 😊

Since I arrived late in the afternoon or should I say early evening, we went directly to the our designated transient house. We chose Mtshketa which is more or less an hour travel from Tbilisi because it is much cheaper than the capital itself.

Jemali Tour Guide has been our home for almost 6 days while enjoying the winter season in Georgia. Our accommodation was almost an hour away from Tbilisi City. The place was Mtshketa, one of the tourist destinations because of it's ancient Georgian history and culture. The place was very different to Tbilisi- capital of Georgia which shows both side of the Georgian customs and traditions. Our accommodation is just opposite the famous church in Mtshketa. A sight to behold...mind you especially during sunrise, sunset and of course during snowfall

I was joined by 3 more kabayans from Saudi Arabia (which happens to be nurses also) while travelling to reach our hotel. I was the only one dropped to the house of the owner which they also used as transient house for single travelers, The rest of the girls checked in to their second hotel 2 blocks away from mine.

The transient house is very cozy where the entire family members of the owner is staying. They can only accommodate maximum of 2 single travelers (1 king size bedroom and a single bedroom). I had my dinner in the cafe/restaurant/pub beside my accommodation which serves variety of foods from pizza/snacks and main courses like salmons steak and pork bbq...vodka, red and white wine😊. Most of our dinner for the entire trip was spent in this restaurant.

Update since I'm publishing this entry after almost 3 years of the trip itself. Let's make it short and sweet.

On my 1st day I was alone so I decided to roam around only within Mtshketa. My accommodation is just opposite to one of UNESCO's world heritage site- The Svetitskhoveli Cathedral (an orthodox Christian church) and 2nd of the largest church building in Georgia. So I took the opportunity to goes back and forth and window shopped to all the stalls and bazaars just below my door room.😊

2nd day was spent touring the Tbilisi town as well as experiencing the rich Georgian culture and foods. On our 3rd day we went somewhere in the mountain to experience the snow. We were so lucky that on that specific trip we really experienced the first snowfall and it was my birt

4th day we went again to mountain side and was captivated by the surreal view. I was even tempted to try the paragliding but I am not in proper attire to bear the coldness of the mountain top.

5th day and 6th day was our own leisure time exploring and eating around. Indeed it was a very fun experience. I think this trip has started my routine to as much as possible travel on my birth month.

Travel expense (4000 QAR)

Cheers to snow! Winter all the way Georgia


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb