The Ghost Festival


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
November 3rd 2016
Published: November 3rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today’s journal is a particularly special one as it’s is the Ghost Festival! All throughout China, the Ghost Festival (a.k.a. The Hungry Ghost Festival) celebrates the connections between the living and dead, and is held annually on the 15th day of the seventh lunar month. The festival is the climax of the Ghost Month and all ghost celebrations, and one of my favorite holidays of the year!

Today I am going to go to the main parade, which wraps around the center of Chang’an. The Ghost Festival is also a day to pray to the deceased, but not in a sorrowful way. In our culture, we like to honor and celebrate the dead - commemorating their lives and legacies. This festival is one of the things I missed most while I was traveling. I love when the whole family comes together, especially considering my father’s current state. The Ghost Festival is so important, everyone takes off of work, even the government workers.

Unlike the Chinese New Year, we aren’t supposed to wear red this month because demons are attracted to the color. Many of the foreign traders haven’t learned that yet, hopefully they adopt the custom soon. The women in Chang’an have prepared the Lotus Flower Lanterns that we will all light and watch as they float down the river later tonight. This is the most calming part about the holiday as the whole community comes together to marvel at the floating lanterns, making it my favorite part of the festival.



Once the festival is over, everyone will head back to their normal lives and I will have to continue with my studying. Only one week until the exam! Until then, I will go join my family to practice our rituals for the deceased. I’ll write again soon and all the best to your ancestors!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb