Xian


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
September 19th 2011
Published: September 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Greetings:
My apologies for not posting sooner but it has literally been a whirlwind since I arrived. Non-stop day after day of brilliant discoveries and experiences. Unfortunately wifi is virtually non-existant here. There are NO internet cafes. But now I am in the small town of Xian (six million constitutes a small city here.) and I have wifi in the lobby of the HNA Business Hotel in downtown Xian. I still am not able to upload photos to my blog but will try get that sorted out when I get back to Beijing and have some time to work on it. (I return from Hong Kong via Shanghai to Beijing on October 2 after a couple of days in Hong Kong)
I'll back up and go over the highlight of my first few days in Beijing. The hotel was really well located, a few blocks from Tianamen Square ( I could see the gates from my hotel window). FIrst off was Tianamen Square, the vastness and scale of it amazing. Then on to the gates of the Forbidden City. What can I say, it is one of the most amazing sites I have ever seen. So vast and amazing. Also took in the Temple of Heaven which is a beautiful temple surrounded by a huge park where people from all walks come to do Tai Chi, play badminton, pingpong, cards, mahjong, chinese chess and group dancing. It was really amazing. Wandered many back alley markets and walked miles and miles and miles.
Next it was off to the Great Wall. We went to a more remote section of the Wall further from Beijing, worth the drive to avoid the huge crowds. Again, what can I say, it is magnificent and humbling. It was an amazing feeling to stand atop it and soak it in, something I have been dreaming of doing for as long as I can remember. (I will go back at the start of my second tour from Beijing)
Then it was off on our first of four overnight train rides. It brings new meaning to going local. We were the only caucasians on the entire train. I have to say, I found it quite comfortable although the name "hard sleeper" is apt. Arrive in Shanghai in the morning and were instantly hit by the heat and humidity. We did a walking tour of the city and then retreated to the museum to cool off in the AC. In the evening we went for a stroll down the Bund with view across the river of the huge building in the Financial District. The next day was free to explore the markets, Yuyuan gardens and the French Quarter. It was blistering hot, so didn't last the entire day, back to the hotel to cool off and regroup for the evening of sightseeing.
The next morning was spent doing yet more walking and exploring then we were off to the train station to board the overnight train to Xian (home of the Terracotta Warriors). This was an older train and brought new meaning to the word "hard sleeper". But I survived, I won't even mention the toilet situation!!
So this morning we arrived in Xian in the POURING rain and 12 degrees! Checked in the hotel which is quite nice (relatively). We were off for another fantastic lunch and then down to the Muslim Quarter for a wander through the very interesting market and I have picked up some tasty street food to have for dinner. The food has been amazing and have been being adventurous and trying many of the fantastic street foods (although I passed on the deep fried scorpions, pigeons and trype!) I have a favourite new breakfast food; a green onion cake like pancake with an egg broken over it and fried, then assorted undentified toppings and served in a plastic bag! It is so good, yet the locals all seem to gather to watch the tall white guy eat the street food. Still no hope of blending in. Although as I notice in the sea of umbrellas today, there are some advantages of being a foot taller than everyone else.
‎Monday, ‎September ‎19, ‎2011
I'm back after a day at the Terracotta Museum just outside of Xian. AMAZING, again. Over 6000 soldiers, each unique. I should have some great photos. When we got back to Xian we walked to the old city wall that surrounds the old city. Great views of the old Watong areas, wandered through some great street markets, then for contrast we walked through the new WalMart a few blocks from the hotel!!
So, overall it has been completely amazing. This is such a vast country and so full on contrasts. Facinating.
I hope all is well and winter is settling soon!!!
Jeff

PS: I probably won't have email access for the next week or so. I will be at a monestary in the mountains then on the Yangtze river cruise.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb