Running outside


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
September 30th 2010
Published: October 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

After a gmail conversation last night I was inspired to go running outside again. The weather has been significantly cooler the last ten days or so but the torrential rain that's been pretty much constant doesn't make going out any more tempting than the boiling heat. However, yesterday it was just spitting and I'd been complaining to my friend that I absolutely hate running on the treadmill so I decided just to chance it, rain or no. At least, I figured, the rain would wash the sweat off!

But the gods must have been smiling on me, because we've had perfect running weather today. A grey sky and a cool breeze - it actually reminded me of being at home. I know it's sad, but I enjoyed pretty much every minute of being outside running (well, jogging - I was very slow) outside. I got a stitch 20 minutes in but breathed through it and then it was just lovely, outdoorsy fun. The streets were busy enough to keep it interesting but no so much as to get in the way. I only got a few funny looks but I was too happy to notice really. I had some good music on and was very chuffed with myself for getting out and keeping on going. At one point, I was running down slight hill and this song I love (and no, I'm not going to say what it was, let's just say it's even less cool than Miley Cyrus) came on and I just wanted to wave my hands in the air but I satisfied myself by just singing along as best I could without getting too out of breath. I love moments like that.

Unfortunately my nike+ isn't on my new ipod for some reason so I don't know exactly how far I went, but I was out for an hour and I think I did between 8 and 9km. I know it was slow - I did 9k on the treadmill in 48 minutes last week, but it was so much more enjoyable that I don't really care. I am sure if I go out once a week I'll soon build the speed back up.

So I have been at one with the world pretty much all afternoon. Happy with China (!) and life in general. I've not even been stressed by trying to organise the halloween party for 300 kids, or figuring out if we can go anywhere next week (it's national holiday) without our passports (they are away for more stamping etc).

My good mood was slightly dinted when I tried to re download the nike + app and found it is no longer free. Okay, it's only £1.19 but I only have 25p in my itunes account and don't have a credit card I can link to it (and don't want that temptation anyway). I think I'll need to ask my mum to buy me a voucher and then email me the code, but that's a pain in the ass so I might just go without. I do like the motivation though, of the wee voice in your ear telling you how far you've gone, and seeing my run when it syncs with the website after. So, we'll see. Hardly a big problem and not enough to knock me off from my perch on top of the world!

We'll see how good I feel after an hour of kindergarden though...

Advertisement



1st October 2010

The £1.19 Nike+ is the GPS one, not the old one. Go in to your settings and see if Nike+ is down the bottom as one of the apps, and then enable it.
1st October 2010

thanks...
mate, you're a frickin' wizard! thank you :)

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb