Datong and around


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
September 6th 2010
Published: September 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I left Beijing with the night train, a soft sleeper. Was so lucky to be in a departement with two people who spoke English and helped me with putting up my lugage. Train was great but for one reason, I'm no real fan, they don't really wake you up when you arrive. Only partly as you have to change your ticket into a plastic one and then back to the paper and that happened a bit before we arrived. But I was really lucky that the girl in the compartement also had to get off. And even luckier that she was picked up and offered me a ride...

So far my luck. First communication problem in the hotel. They said I had to pay 600 yuan, I was told a room was only 260. No one spoke English so frustration at both sides and I left. Now seen, they probably meant that the 600 was the deposit. So I had to look for another hotel. My travel guide told me that there was a sort of tourist office in the station, so me back that way, this time helped by my point-it. Of course couldn't find the office so ended up taking a taxi to a hotel next to the Nine Dragons Screen. Wanted to rest a bit after my trip but my room was next to the street (and Chinese drivers are very keen on their horn!) so I changed rooms, more quiet but sadly enough smelled of smoking....

First stop was of course the dragon screen. I met some other travellers there and asked the best way to the Yungang caves. Take bus 4 'till the end and then change to 3.2. Done so, got kicked off and immediatly harrasted by a motor taxi which brought me to the entrence of... a temple! Bangkok in mind (everything is always closed if you ask), I of course thought I was ripped of so took a motor back and got back on the bus. They kicked me of again somewhere best called nowhere where I had no other option then to take another bus as I knew I had to take 3.1 or 3.2 but my guide didn't say anything about where to get of so I assumed the last stop. Wrong...

But yes, I made it to the caves! The ticket person told me to get off at the same spot I was before, so back on the motorbike and to the temple. This time asked several people showing the pic in my guide. Caves are about 1.5 km from the temple, temple is newly built and probably soon a new attraction (now it was free). Caves themselves are 130 yuan. I had to think a bit about Petra (Jordan) as the Buddhas are also carved in stone. There are several caves with not only Boedhas but I also saw Shiva, not a Chinese god. Especialy the caves 5-13 are great and of course the 3 large Buddhist. Apparently the caves were first build near a river but then one or other emperor decided that this could damage the caves so he had the river re-routed. This was done 2000 years ago or so, so yes, the river now follows the new path...

On the way back I learned first hand how good the Chinese are with storming a bus and pushing, not respecting any one. Bus 4 was a real nightmare on the way back. Overcrowded, impossible to get of. Never had to do so much pushing!But who can complain? A ticket is only 1 yuan and it's something you'll remeber

As I wasn't all that happy with my hotel, I contacted Michelle again to see wheter I still could go to the first hotel and that if needed, she could translate for me to explain about the price. This time they knew I was coming so everything went smooth and I'm staying in a great place, only internet is overcharged a bit but I managed to explain what I wantedm that's also something!

After my experience on bus 4 yesterday, I decided not to try and visit the two remaining sited by public transport. I called the CITS office and they arranged a taxi for me for 340 yuan, maybe a bit expensive but so easy. And as it was a long drive, a good option

First stop was The Wood Pagoda (pics will folllow, don't worry), a 70m high wooden tower built in 1056 and so well constructed that it survived 7 earthquakes. If I have to believe my guide, it might be closed to preserve it but I still was able to visit it (60 yuan) and climb to the first floor.

Second stop was the Hanging Temple, a very well known sight. The closer you get, the more impressive and you can also get inside (130 yuan).

I don't know who's the Chinese god of traffic, but he/she has to do a hell of a job. Sadly enough I passed two accidents but it seemed with minor injuries. Cars don't stop if you want to cross the street, don't care about red light and pass others in curves and things like that. Don't try this at home...

Advertisement



7th September 2010

avontuur
Jeee... wat een avonturen allemaal, kan niet wachten tot de bijbehorende foto's komen

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb