more goings on


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
June 16th 2010
Published: June 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, it's a National Holiday today and we are closed but I came in to work to do a few bits. These two women came in and I tried to tell them we were closed but they didn't understand. I gave them a flyer and indicated that there was noone else in the building (you'd think the fact all the lights are off might have siggested we're not open) but they just came in and sat down. I couldn't get hold of Tarik or Benny and was starting to panic a bit that they'd be sat for ages, but luckily Taz turned up after about ten minutes and is now talking to them.

We went out again last night, I'm not sure why, maybe because of the holiday today. All I can say is that barbecue was again involved, as was Jim Beam, tequila and karoke. It was great fun and I met some new people too and hope to be able to hang out with them again. I also discovered that I can get wireless (well, piggyback someone else's) in our kitchen and now realise that drinking and emailing is probably even less of a good idea than drunk texting because you can write more crap in an email. So, I need to stop doing that.

What else? I think I'm losing weight here. Not on purpose and actually much of the food is quite oily, but I am not great with chopsticks so everyone else is finished when I'm only halfway through. The only exception is the BBQ place beause that involves less chopsticking and more just tearing the meat off the sticks with your teeth! I told you it was a man kind of restaurant. Also, I ate fish last night for the first time in years and years. One of my aims in coming here is to be a bit more adventurous with my food and that includes starting to eat seafood. The fish was really, really spicy and I managed a few mouthfuls before being put off by the eye staring up at me. Talking of animals with heads on, yesterday at lunch we ordered duck and it had the actual head on it. Tarik was freaking me out by making it 'quack'. I stuck to the veggies.

The girls arrive tomorrow so I'll be heading off to Shanghai to meet them at the airport.



Advertisement



16th June 2010

quack quack
Sounds like you're having muchos fun! Not surprised your losing weight though when they keep the heads on the potential food....freaky! missing you xxx
17th June 2010

thanks
Thanks Corinna, good to hear from you. I'm glad you are still reading! I miss you too. Have been out a couple of times and there was no one to cheesey dance with me! x x
26th June 2010

Mmmmmm eating lots of nice food, seafood and losing weight - sounds like my sort of diet. Rach set off this morning with really heavy bags so beware. Once you two are settled, please send me your address as I'm up for the old penpal writing and all that jazz.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb