Contracts and running


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
June 6th 2010
Published: June 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I know my blog titles are pretty dull but I can't think of what else to do, other than tell you what they are about....

So, last night I went running (well, it's more jogging but calling it running makes me feel better) for the first time since I got here. I'd been putting it off to be honest, because this place is very urban, there are lots of roads to cross and I find it much easier to go further if I can just go continuously rather than stopping and starting. Anyway, after procrastinating for a week I went out last night at about 8.30pm.

The first challenge was getting changed. I'd bought my kit to school but have to tell you that getting changed in a squat toilet requires all manner or flexibility. Couple that with the fact that it's a kid's school so the cubicle sides and doors are only chest height on me (a bit like when you go back to primary school at home and the toilets and sinks are all really low), the floor is wet either with wee or with cleaning fluid, and that if anyone opened the door to come in to the loos everyone in one of the classrooms would have got a flash of me changing into my sports bra and you can imagine why I got changed ducked down
and in record time.

It hadn't been too sunny in the day, but it was still warm. I am quite glad I can't speak much Chinese yet because I don't know what people said as I went past (they don't really go for jogging much here)! I decided just to run in one direction because I have actually got lost when out in Glasgow before an didn't want to take any chances, especially because I rather stupidly hadn't taken money or a phone.

I basically just kept going until I reached a T junction then came back. It really struck me how fast this place is growing. Just when I'd come to what I thought was the end of town there was a new housing estate, or a construction site or something. In the end I did about 3.2 miles but my pacing was all over because I started off quite fast (trying to get out of town quick and away from the staring eyes!) then slowed right down towards the end becuase I was hot and sweaty. I don't like sweating by the way, and I miss running in the coolness of the UK, where even if you are sweating as you go it doesn't cling to you in the same way.

As I said before, the roads here are a mess ( I have taken some pictures and will upload them soon) so my run was certainly interesting, leaping over potholes, dodging loose piles of bricks and trying not to loose my footing on the rubble. I actually enjoyed it, it kept me alert and I felt like I was in an action movie! I went out from the school so next time will do the same but go in a different direction. I think it was a really good way to get to see other places in Tonglu. One place struck me in particular. I thought it was just a normal shop with the big glass windows but what caught my eye was a guy sitting on a bed reading, just wearing his boxers. Of course, after nearly swerving off the pavement I realised it was some kind of hostel or shelter filled with loads of beds and there were a couple of men outside washing their clothes by hand. I thought it was odd that they were not screened from the street in any way, but I guess they might just be glad of a bed.

When I got back I was going through the contracts for our new staff to sign. You know, I always thought that was hard and kind of dull, well after doing it in Chinese ( I had a translator) I won't complain again!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb