Part 3 Guangzhou China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
January 4th 2009
Published: January 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After HK, I have spent a week in Guangzhou at a friend's house and to get acustom to China. I arrived sunday morning the 14th just in time for his brunch at is flat with other french teachers from his university. I had the guest bedroom just for me. What a difference after a week in the dormatory of youth hostel.

I think the stress of arriving in China and the lack of sleep in HK did catch up. I sleep more than 18 hours from sunday afternoon up to monday morning.

Monday afternoon the 15th, I went with David girlfriend's Nini to buy a SIM card and visit the neigborhood so I can find my way. At night for dinner we meet David, and Nini friend Even. We had a typical Guanzhou meal: many small dish like noodles and duck wings. A bit too spicy for me at this point. I tried a bit of everything but with some caution.

Tuesday the 16th, Even offer me to bring me to a nice dim sum for lunch. The place was very good not too spicy and closer of the chinese food I am use to. Then I experience what it is to be a passenger in a car in China. Even has a car and we drove around the City. I have nothing to say about her competence as a driver. I just don't understand exactly how does it work on the road. There is no real direction for the car even if the street is a one way. There is a flow of car zigzaging and joining the traffic flow in a approximate direction. Afrer the lunch Even and I went to visit a temple. and after I was left by myself in Bejing street walking around. Since I was alone I was harased by street vendor for Guchi, bag, watch. I quickly left the shopping zone for the public park much more quiet where I spend the rest if the afternoon. Even and Nini were worry that I wouldn't made it back alone in one piece. I had David address writen in Chinese and there was a metro so I manage with my software translator to get back home safe.

Wednesday 17th, I meet with Cat another contact from my friend Carlos. He meet her while he studied at Hong Kong university. She brought me to a nice restaurant with a lot of choice of different style. Like in Japan there was a display of all food plate available at each station. Since I don't read chinese that is very helpfull. Later that night we meet Even for a coffee.

Thursday 18th, I meet Cat again for a walk along the river downtown Guangzhou. Then we went to a German bar/bistro ( Yes her boyfriend is german...and she visited germany recently). After sharing a Tiramisu with her, I to tried to convinced her to come clubing at bit with me. I did some research and babyface was supposed to be a good club in Guangzhou. Unfortunately I was not successful in convincing her. I suspect the boyfriend and the fact that it was a thursday night did play again me. I don't usually go out alone but I wanted to listen to music and relax a bit since I didn't found anybody to join me I went alone. Unfortunately I end up in a techno/dance club not exactly what I was expecting. After whatching the MTV europe award at home, I was expecting some of the hit/winner to be playing in some club. I was just not in the right club. I drank two beers slowly at the bar, enjoy the ambiance and when back home at 2 am. I was not in a mood to chat with the people in the club. There were not many foreigner in the bar so I was quite easy to spot.

Friday, I booked my plane ticket on www.ctrip.com and I left for Guilin saturday morning. By chance I did spot the exact place to take the bus to the airport. I had to take the 5:30am bus and on my way to the bus I met a taxi repeting "no bus". I hate so much this kind of deinformation.






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.049s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb