Heat


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
January 9th 2005
Published: January 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Concept photoConcept photoConcept photo

Okay, it is artificially lit. Stalig-thingies in caves at the Stone Forest, Shilin.
For the first time since my Middle -Eastern adventures, I felt the heat of the sun. It is as if I have tunnelled through a block of snow thousands of miles thick and am on the other side. The scarf, gloves and thermals are in the bin, the parka is in the post (along with a helluva lot of sooper cheap dvds of questionable authenticity). Heat. Mmmm. So there was a plan to go back north to some great stuff near the border with Tibet - I even extended my visa for that reason. But sod that. Laos bound. I am now in the "deep" south, spent 2 days cycling along the Mekong River (the Chinese call it Lancang Jiang, but what's in a name?). It is warm and subtropical and I'm Lovin' it.

Kunming was slated. I thought it was great. Okay, there isn't a lot to see and it looks like was built yesterday (not far wrong), but it is 'very nice' and a place one could easily live in. (I mean, who goes to see stuff in their home town anyway?)

Kunming is Visa-City for going to Vietnam/Laos/Myanmar. The Laos consulate is located just away from the lobby in the complex of a popular hotel. A bit of a bizarre place to put it, I thought, and then thought how strange it must be to work in here - as I opened the door to re-enter the lobby, a French guy with a bag of smelly clothes asked me if this was the laundry! I took pleasure in haughtily informing him that it was the Laos consulate.

There is always a 'travel book'. It used to be The Beach. All travellers read it, talked about it - it was excellent - and then someone made a really shit film out of it. When I was travelling in 2000, everyone was reading Captain Corelli's Mandolin (another great book) and then someone made a really shit film out of it. Nowadays it is the fact-stretching Da Vinci Code. It won't be hard to make a shit film from this.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

More pineapples than you can shake a stick at.More pineapples than you can shake a stick at.
More pineapples than you can shake a stick at.

..And get working on that tan in Yunnan, China.
Food marketFood market
Food market

Menghan, Yunnan.
Top o the worldTop o the world
Top o the world

Stone Forest, Shilin
It's getting hot in hereIt's getting hot in here
It's getting hot in here

Room on fire, but the food is good.
Lotta funLotta fun
Lotta fun

Kids entertaining the 'Laowais' (foreigners) in Menghan.


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 113; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb