One Last Look at Jinhua


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang » Jinhua
April 21st 2016
Published: April 21st 2016
Edit Blog Post

The return to Jinhua was a bit of a downer moment for me. It seemed liked such a small city once I compared it to Wuhan. I now understood the comment that Jinhua felt too small to Terry. It seemed so much smaller and uncultured when compared to what I had vaguely seen in Wuhan. I knew how Terry felt “trapped” in the small city that Jinhua offered to him. It felt so small to me even if I was used to living in this city. It was but a stopping point along a much longer journey I needed to make but still an important stop for me to understand what actually faced me if I travelled around China. I had felt like my entire hometown could fit snugly in nothing but a block or two in this city that was small when compared to so many other Chinese cities. I realized how small our North American world was when compared to China. It did not stop me from continuing my incomplete exploration of Jinhua as I prepared to leave.



The sudden discovery of the Ba Yong Lou as we searched for something to explore was a boon in our adventure. Terry had been trying hard to show me one place is Jinhua but every time we arrived there it was closed or on the verge of closing, leaving us to search for a second place to look upon. As we walked along the Bing Hung Park, We both spotted this short tower that seemed out of place. We had to investigate right away considering we had not been able to see anything this last trip in Jinhua. It had been both a watch tower and a centre of learning within the Chinese culture of Jinhua. We also learned about the reconstruction on the pagoda within this area all part of the Ancient City of Wuzhou. A guard on duty was very free with this information as he saw the wonder we showed as we photographed this area.



Ba Youg Lou is a wonderful place still hidden within Jinhua by the Bin Hung Park and the Ancient City of Wuzhou. It was a wonder to explore even if definitely and inactive structure. It was much better maintained than the Tianning Temple but still showed signs of time ravages upon it. This was both a temple, a watch post, and a relic of the past by the time we had a chance to explore it. Scriptures, past lessons and information sat on all the walls as we looked on in awe at this new place. As I mentioned, the guard stated that the pagoda that was part of this section was being rebuilt as we walk through the past to complete the Ancient area that would have been Wuzhou at that time. It was a bit of a shock and surprise that ancient structures were being rebuilt instead of turning into history in this growing city. A wonderful place away from the chaos of city while still being close to a well known park and centrally located.



After this small adventure, we returned to Bin Hung Park and slowly made are way through it to return to Wuhan Park. It was odd realizing that we had returned to the circle that lead us home on this last days of exploring. It was a short trip home from there as Terry advised me about Shenzhen, Hong Kong, and Guangzhou, but I only listen with one ear as I prepared myself for the lone venture that sat before me. I was a little depressed but smiled anyways as I prepared for the long journey before me in absolute solitude. This was all I could offer my friend that I was leaving behind in Jinhua as I decided what came with me on this new venture. Shenzhen. and Hong Kong lay in my immediate future which I could not avoid. But I may not directly speak of them until I feel I have truly experienced them fully. I hope to see all my friends in Guangzhou soon but only a moment of delay held me back from that moment. Hong Kong and Shenzhen waited in my direct future which could not be avoided. See you all soon as my adventures in China continue without any possible stop. I hope you are enjoying this little trip in a place few would venture willingly unless they plan to teach here like Terry has done.


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb