I was told it's warm in south of China- it's not!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Zhongdian
July 10th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

/Lelde/

You know, Chinese people from one hand are rather relaxed and chilled, even at their work places-, playing cars, having meals, drinking tea, chatting with friend, but it may just seem very unconcerned approch as they work from early morning till late night and they don't take weekends off.
By the way I saw a lady with the longest hair ever in Litang, it was made in plat, but it was streaching till her knees!!!!! 😊) I bet that lady would protect her modesty even without wearing any clothes.😊
It's the second day with 5am atrat and endless hours on a bus, but the scenary, ofcourse, on our way was fantastic!!! Mountains covered in clouds, rocks, trees.... Like in a fairytail!!!
Last night we stayed in that little place I told we are going to, it was rather nice and tibetan and we slept in a proper tibetan house - very beautiful!!! No shower and gross toilet outside, but othervise it was great!
Now we are in Zhongdean (not sure how to write it). We arrived today, but are leaving tomorrow and I think the main reason I don't want to stay here much longer is the fact that it's raining and cold! I dont like cold! And I'm also a bit tired of what we are doing now, I want to go to the next level of getting to know this country - finding work. We'll today we have been offered work in one of the provinces for trial periode of 3 month to teach businness english!! Can you imagine- business english! They must be desperat!!!😊 As they sent as information a while ago and said they're expectations and standarts are very high bla, bla... and we wrote back that we don't feel (especially me) we much the criteria etc., but here you go...😊) So we'll see- we might be proper employees in this country very soon!😊
Anyhow our next destination is Tiger leaping gorge and then Lijiang unless our potential employers will ask us kindly to take a plane as they need somebody asap.

Steven/
It may be that we have already been to Tibetan areas (Xiahe and Langmusi as well as Litang), but the name applied to Zhongdian- "Shangri-la"- which even travellers use seems a tourist gimmick. The old town had some lovely wooden buildings, but these were all souvenir shops. It probably didn't help our impression of Zhongdian that it happened to be a cold, drizzly day when we were there. The one upside is that our hostel had, of all things, an indoor basketball hoop and mini court- I played a couple of games with some locals- good fun!
No pictures for Zhongdian for the reason that we were not moved to take any ( Sorry if you loved the place).
We will be getting back to nature next when we go on to Tiger Leaping Gorge for a bit of trekking!

Advertisement



10th July 2007

Ill have to come to join you cos I still cant find anything here...! Good luck teachers!
11th July 2007

Teaching Business English?
I think you want them to have you invite a guest professor. If they pay for my flight and a proper hotel, I'll come for a week and you can watch me teach business English (how cool would that be!) Otherwise I'll try to find you a book or on-line site to use as your coach. I think you'll need one. Good luck and lots of it. Love, Jan

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb