Tiger Lee_Shangri LA_The best choice to finish this journey


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Shangri-La
July 12th 2012
Published: July 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Lijiang visit ends well. I walked around realizing that in this city have things I have seen already in other places. For example,<span><span> the locals in the stores or do not let you go or they do not pay attention at all. There is nothing in the middle, they are stuck to the TV of they grab you like a mosquito.<span> The other thing I witness, as I saw it in Chengdu and Houndzou, is the garbage truck pass around the streets playing a carrousel music, as if they where selling ice cream! While they wash the floor with big brushes people go out and put their big garbage on it.<span>Lijiang offers an active nightlife for the visitor. Pubs and discos as I have not seen anywhere here. Women are dress in costumes inviting to enter to their places. Many of them look like wearing Christmas costumes all in red and white wood things, other minorities clothing…they dance modern local music around the stage of the open bars inviting tourist to enter to their places, some women dance around the tube and others in traditional slow motion movement with Chinese music.



I am very tired… I have been 2 days hiking in the Tiger Lee Mountains. I enjoyed it a lot, but I confess that I wanted to give up the journey many times. I realized that having big motivations worked.<span> I did not quit, first because I have a house behind me that makes me goes fast, second because I did not have book a room in the only guest house in the mountain and I was afraid to sleep in the forest if I would not hurry up, and third because I really need a shower. <span> During my walk I had a lot of epiphanies and hilarious ideas, but the most funny one, coming from nowhere, was remember that move and horse in Hebrew sounds the same…I was walking repeating myself, suz, sus, suz, sus…while a ting-ting from a horse bell pushes me forward.<span> There are waterfalls, many nice views along the path, and many goats blocking the way in the altitude.



The first day I walked 7 hours. The first three where extremely demanding, always going up and up and up…I felt frustrated when many people passed me, I really did not have much resistance going up, then when it become flat I can go for ever and I have an advantage of being tall, that allows me to go further. I overnight in a nice guesthouse in the middle of the mountain, Half Way Hostel. Where I met many Germans, Americans and people from Hong Kong. After my shower and dinner we play cards. I lost, but it was fun.



The second day, I finally arrived to the Leap Gorge…The famous yellow line that was marking my journey during the last 2 days, like in the wizard of oz story, crystallize in a big, turbulent muddy water, the yellow river that starts here and arrives to Shangai…It is not good for rafting, many people die trying… the motivation here to come back 2 hours up again was that if I was not hurry up I will loose the bus to my next destination. I made it! The bus was late, one hour late. Part of the road, from Tina´s guesthouse where I needed to find my language and the bus, collapsed so we needed to cross over tiny path over rocks in order to get access to the big bus. I was lucky that the driver took my backpack.



I am in Shangri La now…It is a beautiful Tibetan town.<span> It has small streets with stones on the floor and colorful flags in the middle of the road. Many stores but not too crowded. The weather is cool. Local people dance in the middle of their square their traditional music. There is a small temple in the town, with a huge bell that needs more than 10 people to turn it. I am sharing my room with a german guy in a nice guesthouse. <span> I have just have dinner, guess what?<span> Yes noodle with vegetables, I am ready for a conference call for a job in Mexico…I need to be there the 17…let´s see if I can change my flight again😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb