13 days in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Jinghong
February 14th 2011
Published: February 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

13 Days in China13 Days in China13 Days in China

Sore where they teach babies to swim
Day 9

Wake me up I must be dreaming!

We were on our way to the airport this morning and I was gazing out the window of my delapetated barely running cab and listening to our angry Naxi speaking woman cab driver yelling at someone on her cell phone....and I thought to myself I feel like I'm dreaming. How cool is it that I'm experiencing something that not many people will have a chance to do in their lifetime. It is so cool to experience different cultures and see how people live in different countries. Many times in our China journey I have felt like I was in a movie.

Today we spent most of the day traveling to our next city...XishuangBanNa. It is located in the southern tip of the Yunnan province. When we got off the plane, I couldn't really grasp where we were. It was now 76 degrees and humid. I felt like I was in Hawaii yet it didn't look like Hawaii. It sort of looked like Vietnam even though I have never been there. There were times when I felt as though I was in Mexico or Thailand.

Xishuangbanna is somewhat of a medium sized city that is very tropical even though is it not near the beach. It is a major port on a river much like the Mississippi that runs all the way to the ocean. It is much different from Lijiang in every way imaginable.

I did not take a lot of pic's tonight just few. The one I posted is a store that teaches babies to swim. Very interesting!

Tonight we ate Thai food and it was very refreshing to have some new tastes..still rice and veggies and mystery meats but different spices and very tasty!

Tomorrow we are going to a few villages to see the Dai culture. Weds we will be going to the Valley of the elephants to the rainforest. Can't wait..

Until tomorrow time to get some rest.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb