Riding the bus in Banna


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Jinghong
June 27th 2010
Published: July 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Octagonal PavilionOctagonal PavilionOctagonal Pavilion

Stairs leading up to the monastery and octagonal pavilion in Jingzhen
So I got up around 7:00 because my room was so unbelievably hot. The night air was cool, but there was no breeze to be had and the ceiling fan did not draw any air into the room. I went to find some breakfast and nothing appealing was open yet, so I walked around the city a bit and worked up a sweat already by 8:30. My walk proved yet again that Jinghong was just another Chinese city - a growing concret jungle - but with one huge difference. The streets are so wide and all are lined by trees and plants and the medians were full of plants and palm trees and exotic flowers. The streets were really unique in this way and I got the impression that just about anything will grow in this area.

At 8:30 I ended up at Mei Mei Cafe, two doors down from Mykong Cafe. I had a lovely breakfast of muesli, fruit, yogurt and coffee. At first I thought Jinghong was cheaper than Shanghai, but then I started to really think about it. A latte was 18 RMB, but it was in a small cup. In Shanghai I pay 30 for a
Buddha StatueBuddha StatueBuddha Statue

One of many Buddha statues on the stairs leading up to the octagonal pavilion
big one. Beer and alcohol, however, are noticeably cheaper here! Way cheaper! And a bottle of water is about half the price of a bottle in Shanghai.

Okay, enough about prices. I was going to rent a motorbike and drive out to the countryside as recommended by the German guy I met, but then I lost my nerve. So I took a bus from bus station #2. A bus. With the locals. Who all looked at me like I'd lost my mind. It was actually really easy though, and civilized. No one had chickens or 20 kg of cabbages to transport. Everyone had their cell phones on and no one spat on the bus, although they did spit out the windows. And some of the men smoked. But it was all good. I went to Menghai first (15RMB), but that is just another town with nothing to see. I got on a bus to Jingzhen (4RMB) to see the Octagonal Pavilion (20RMB). I had shown the bus driver the name of the town where I wanted to get off before we took off, so when we got to the pavilion, he called out to me and he pointed me
Jingzhen MonasteryJingzhen MonasteryJingzhen Monastery

One of the buildings serving as a monastic school in Jingzhen
right to the ticket booth, which was not obvious except for the lone woman standing there with a clipboard. The bus drivers were all just about as friendly as the bus drivers in Ireland and they were so happy to help! I couldn't believe it! They're all assholes in Shanghai and won't answer anything, even if you ask in Chinese.

It only took about an hour to get to the pavilion from Jinghong, and it is pretty much the only thing there except for about 300 people living in the village. The pavilion was built in 1701 but was severly damaged during the Cultural Revolution. It was renovated in 1978 and is still, slowly but surely, being renovated. Damage was still evident, but there were some monks in training there, young boys, and they seemed quite surprised to see a visitor, and a lone western one at that. I saw a couple of older monks there as well and they didn't seem so surprised. There are about 4 main buildings. When I entered the temple, I made sure to remove my shoes first and I didn't take pictures inside because the Buddhist consider this disrespectful, although some will give
Temple TowerTemple TowerTemple Tower

Every temple has one of these in some form. I read the purpose of it, but now I forget. I do remember it is especially used during festivals.
permission. I went into the main temple hall, and walked to the alter and two young monks came in, maybe 12 years old. They seemed really surprised to see someone in there, and went to the incense table and sat down. When I approached the alter, one of them came up and tentatively handed me three sticks of incense and went back to his friend. I put some money in the donation box and lit the incense. I'm sure they don't get many western tourists in this temple, but I think it was worth the bus ride and the 20RMB entrance fee, which I paid because I am a foreigner. I think the actual fee is only 10RMB. Heehee. Actually, I'm not sure that temple sees much action at all. I wandered behind the altar and found a huge, dead rat on the floor. I'd had enough of rats after my experience in Hanoi, so I left. At least this one was dead though, and not in my hotel room.

To catch the bus, I just walked across the road and waited. I flagged down a mini-mini bus this time. How strange was it that I was riding back
The Octagonal PavilionThe Octagonal PavilionThe Octagonal Pavilion

This is the actual pavilion the site is named after.
to Jinghong in a super small bus with five Chinese men and a sleeping boy. It didn't feel that weird actually. This is one time I truly wished I could communicate with strangers though.

When I got back to Jinghong, I rested in the hostel for a while, but it was too hot in the room, so I went to a Thai restaurant and ordered one of my favorites, Tom Yum soup with shrimp that I am not supposed to eat anymore. It was delicious, but it made me really hot, so I went to Mykong Cafe for a drink, then back to the hostel for a shower and stole the fan from the common room and went to bed.






Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Octagonal PavilionOctagonal Pavilion
Octagonal Pavilion

It was severely damaged during the Cultural Revolution but the entire pavilion and monastery are in the process of being reconstructed.
View of Jingzhen VillageView of Jingzhen Village
View of Jingzhen Village

from the monastery. It is mostly newly constructed homes that appear to be quite large, but usually house several families.
Donation WallDonation Wall
Donation Wall

Names of people who donated and the amount donated by each. This is written outside the door of the temple. I saw the two monks in training inside. I didn't take pictures inside the temple.
MuralMural
Mural

This is painted on the outside of one wall of the temple. Every wall has them, but some are still being reconstructed.
Bridge near Jingzhen VillageBridge near Jingzhen Village
Bridge near Jingzhen Village

Not sure if this is a river or a tributary of the Mykong River
Bamboo FootbridgeBamboo Footbridge
Bamboo Footbridge

Crossing to Jingzhen Village. Bamboo is sturdy stuff, and very versatile.
Another PavilionAnother Pavilion
Another Pavilion

This one is also an odd shape, but not part of the monastery.


Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.166s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb