Day 150: Yangtze River Cruise: Badong, China.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yangtze River
April 26th 2010
Published: May 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 150: Monday, April 26th, 2010.
Yangtze River Cruise: Badong, China.

We are awoken 30 minutes before breakfast by gentle chinese music playing softly in the speakers in our room- kind of cool. Then, silence for 20 minutes before the music comes back along with a voice telling us its time for breakfast. Last night we met the mysterious voice, a girl named Coco who is studying English. Her studying has payed off- she speaks it well. Better than me- not saying much though.

We went up to the Three Gorges Dam, took a bus to the top of it so we could look around. I don't get dams. I mean, I understand the purpose and all, but for some reason they don't impress me. I don't have the engineering mind so it doesn't sink in as to what it takes to make a dam (and I get bored when someone tries to tell me, so save your text 😉 We get back on the boat and it then proceeds to go thru the locks for the dam- there are 4 of them and it takes a couple of hours (we had to wait about 3 hours to even get into the first lock though, they were backed up.) We have lunch, then head up to the top deck to watch. We all watch the first lock and take pictures and video and are amused. Then the 2nd lock, less pictures, no video, getting bored. Third lock, i grab my book and head down to the bar to stare at the lock as i read and drink a coke. 4th lock, everyone has joined me in the bar. Then- time for dinner! Seems we are always eating, which is good. Can't say the food on the boat was stellar, but we kept from going hungry.

After dinner, there is a chinese embroidery demonstration in the bar area (which has a stage) and then its just chill time. Damon kicks my ass in fooseball ( I love fooseball, but I suck at it) and then we all just sit and chat. Sue tells us some horror stories from her Vice Principal days. Dear God, there are some shitty kids out there. I can't say it was a bad school- it was full of the more privileged kids, and they though they could do whatever they want and they tried to do it. Thank goodness we have people like Sue (and Paul, he was a teacher) and all you other teachers out there. Maybe there's hope for the future generation yet.



Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb