Hang Me


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yangtze River » Shennong Stream
March 22nd 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We were warned about not drinking too much this morning as the toilets on the ferry are "squatties". We take a ride down the Shennong Stream where we transfer to peapod boats. The Shennong Stream is a tributary of the Yangtze River off of the Three Gorges area. We were told - and I read - that today is when we see the famous hanging coffins. I was glad I was on the right side of the boat and had just taken out my camera as I caught sight of a wooden box resting lengthwise inside a hole in the cliff. That was it. There were to be no other coffins. My picture is dark as I didn't have time to turn off the flash -- but at least I saw it (many didn't).

The monkeys were not out in the rain and neither would we have been but for the want of seeing the monkeys.

The boat ride was spectacular, but I could have done without the constant chatter of the river guide. I know he was doing hisjob, but I woud have liked a moment to just enjoy the sound of the waves slapping on the shore and the paddles hitting the water and the birds singing in the trees. When he took a moment to compose himself before singing a traditional song the beauty of the surroundings came through and was intoxicating.

The highlight of the trip is supposed to be when the boatmen get out and use a bamboo rope to tow the boat -- pulling it throught the water by brute strength. However, this feat was overshadowed for our group when our boat hit a rock and tore a hole in the bottom of the boat. Yup! We had a hole in our boat. The two women in the front row could see it. There was water coming in and at one point I helped pass a rag to the front to plug the hole. Now and then you would see the "front captain" bailing. He made us all shift to the left and I was half hanging out being on the outside edge. Oh well, it makes for a better story. One guy yelled at another boat, "You're just jealous because your boat doesn't have a hole in it!"

The singing of the traditional songs from our captain and from other boats as they passed on the river was a treat. I bought a CD of it and hope it brings back lovely memories.

By the time we got back to the dock there was 6 inches of water in the front of the boat and a few rushed and shouted words of Chinese flying around. We made it to dry land and were the envy of the other passengers.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb