Time to say goodbye


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Lhasa
December 9th 2007
Published: January 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jeep 2Jeep 2Jeep 2

Album cover
08-DEC-2007

Once again, I cannot move. It appears as though breakfast is not happening again today. And I will be staying in the same hotel, because I really cannot be bothered to pack up my things. Since I had wanted to switch hotels, Steve is shocked with how agreeable I now am to stay put. Me, agreeable? Haha, doesn't happen much, does it?

We trek over to the Yak Hotel in the center of town with the others, which ends up being much nicer than where we're staying. Bummer. Jeep 2 heads to the outdoor food on a stick cafe- risky for my fickle belly, but ends up being absolutely amazing. I have fried tofu, mushrooms, green beans and potatoes, all on sticks. It's so salty and spicy, bordering too salty. Did I just admit that? I have seconds regardless. I don't even like tofu, but this is tas-tay!

The three of us get lost in the central square in an attempt to meet up with the others later for lunch. There are lots of amazing shops with ridiculous English-translated names such as, "Wear Ching Chang Shoes and go around the World." We eventually find ourselves, as well as the others, at a rooftop restaurant where Steve chows into a raw piece of cured yak meet from a local. Everyone seemed really scared of it, but I would have been all over it had a been a meat eater. It's all about the adventure!

I opt out of the food and head over to Dicco's with Tahmeena because I want to see what all the fuss is about. I walk in and it's just like a McDonald's!! Except for, everything is really expensive in comparison to the food everywhere else. The prices rival that of home, if not more expensive. Isn't the point of fast food to get cheap junky food in a hurry? I don't order anything, but I'm still impressed they have a shrimp sandwich. McDonald's, get it together! Tahmeena is extremely irritated from all the people pushing her in line and invading her personal space, so she curses at the street children. I don't know her.

After food, we head out for a grand shopping adventure around the main square. Tahmeena just may be the best bargainer of all time. I end up with an amazing wool lined Tibetan skirt for 50 Yuan ($8), after the woman had originally asked for 190 ($30). Amazing. Unfortunately, this is where I noticed that someone had run away with my super ugly gloves, but it doesn't bother me TOO MUCH, I couldn't stop complaining about them. I think I'll survive. Just keep the hands in the pockets.

We find ourselves walking the wrong way in the square around the temple. Since walking counterclockwise is considered bad luck, the Tibetan people only walk clockwise. Not only are we rebels, this makes for a disastrous traffic issue as it is nearly impossible to make any headway. We veer off into a side alley and vow to never do that again. They're selling these little Tibetan dolls on keychains at every other shop, and I find them oddly cute. I pick one up for 75% off, and notice another with just one leg that I run away with for only 1 Yuan (17 cents). The woman I bought it from won't stop laughing at us and can't figure out why I want a little doll with one leg. Someone had to take pity on her, and she had CHARACTER. I love her. I wanted to buy more for people at home, but Tahmeena wouldn't let me. She was convinced that everyone would think I hated them.

We inadvertently find ourselves wandering down an alley in which the entire street is selling yak cheese. This is hilarious because Tahmeena absolutely hates the smell and we simply cannot get away from it. The look on her face is priceless, and I promise her that I didn't go down that street on purpose. I didn't!

Since I've been needing a new winter coat for quite some time, I decide that now's my chance to strike it rich. I head into an outdoors shop completely expecting to encounter a storefull of fake merchandise when I run across this 2-in-1 Columbia winter coat that is 100% authentic (evidenced by the watermarks and technical label inside the inner shell, watermarks along the elastic, complete seam sealing, intricate detailing, and overall sturdy construction). The 2-in-1 deal means that it's one of those interchangable systems where you can zip the fleece out and wear it separately. I am so pumped and leave there with a solid technical winter coat for only $40.

Tahmeena is jealous of my hair dryer so heads to the grocery to pick one up, while I head back to the hotel to drop off my new treasures. We meet up later where Tahmeena and I drool over a couple cute guys in the lobby of her hotel, but then Steve shows up and ruins it hahaha. Once we find the others, we head to (our favorite) alcoholic peanut place for a couple beers and I learn how to play Yahtzee (I don't lose completely!).

We go for dinner at a traditional place since it's our last night and everyone orders bobis! They consist of these round tortilla-like flat breads in which you spread this flavored sour cream and pile sauteed veggies in before rolling it up. Soooo good. Most everyone else makes a complete mess out of them, but I seem to have mastered the art of not piling on too much of a good thing.

Everyone is absolutely exhausted and we all just sit there staring at each other after dinner. It has been quite a ride. We say our goodbyes back at the hotel, and I try not to think about it too much. The reason I'm so composed at goodbyes is because I never feel as though I'm parting ways with anyone and feel like I could see them whenever it strikes my fancy. Denial is quite the amazing tool.

Back at the hotel, Steve and I pack everything up in anticipation of our early wakeup tomorrow morning. I can't sleep for the life of me... those damn itchy bones...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb