Mom in China - lhasa


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Lhasa
September 13th 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi guys,
Thanks for the emails - great to hear from you all. Having a great time - Lhasa is phenomenal. So "old" and different and amazing. Our guide is fantastic - studied in a monastery and knows so much about Buddhism etc. etc. A busy market is just outside our hotel...."Lookee Lookee Cheapee Cheapee" I have made a few little purchases - it's very tiring batering -eg. the initial price one woman asked for was 150 yuan and we eventually paid 28.($4). Lots of insence prayer flags prayer wheels etc. so amazing. I love to see all of the children strapped to their mom's back...big kids too. Everyone is so pleasant - lots of women hugging women in the market and men being affectionate to men and everyone enjoying the children - nice to see. Everthing is steeped in so much history - and I'm talking the 7th century - a far cry from Champlain and Cartier. I am obsessive about not getting sick from the food or water....wash wash wash purell purell purell - I havent had much to eat - cause I'm nervous....the last thing in the world I want is diarrahea and having to use a squat toilet. I have had the experience twice - not enjoyable. One of the toilets was even in an airport. The Great Wall was fantastic. The tour we arranged was perfect - Dad told the taxi driver exactly how to get to Cyle China and there it was - a hole in the wall...I was so amazed that in a city with a pop. ofr 12 million we could find it - thank you Robbie....mind you we were directed to the cafe down the street to find Nina - the woman who could book our tour. The climb was tuff - I couldnt help but think of Nana who doesn't like escalators or open stairs - I was on the top of the world - mind you I didn't look down. It was rugged - just what we wanted but it was tough - my legs still ache....again history....building a wall to keep the mongolians out..a zillion years ago. the polution in Beijing was definitely noticeable....never saw a clear sky - just like a foggy day every day.
Missing you all - Peter I hope school is going well - Heidi safe travel and travel well - Em have fun on L & D and Lindsay & Jeff - dont fall out of the tree hotel!!! love you all and talk soon. Lesliexoxoxoxoxoxo ps please someone call Nana and relay the news - thanks

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb