Day 5: Lhasa - Gyantse


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Gyantse
August 25th 2006
Published: December 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow! What a great day!!!!

Our road trip started today and it was great fun! We also got to finally meet our guide for the rest of the trip. His name is Pubu and that literally mean Thursday in Tibetan! He has quite unique pair of eyes for an Asian. Instead of the usual dark brown iris, his has a light brown hue. You can say that it look quite like a tigers'. If not for his cheeky character and boyish face, I think he will look pretty fierce.

From Lhasa, we travelled along Friendship Highway towards Gyantse where we stayed for the night. We left Lhasa around 9am and arrived in Gyantse around 7pm. Me and Suki get to share a jeep with Pubu, while Meng and Fungi shared the jeep with Tim.

Though it was long journey, we were not deterred. Partly because we were excited and full of anticipation, partly because there were so many things to see. Our eyes were feasted with a great array of colours....the skies so blue, clouds so white and fluffy, mountains so green. It was just great!

First stop was along Yarlung Tsangpo, the main river running through the heart of Tibet. Next was the higlight of the day. The moment we made the bend on the road, I just gasped in admiration to the beauty before my eyes!! Never have I seen anything so beautiful!! Yamdrok Tso was just before me and boy the turquoise of the lake just took my breath away! I find myself memorising every single hue that was around me. Do not wish to loose it.

Next stop was lunch at Nemok. It was already 2pm and I was darn hungry. First time in my life, I down two bowls of rice. Must be all the travelling, I thought. Little did I know that it was the onset of bad gastric pain that were to haunt me in the evening. But great lunch of egg+tomota and fried pork with vege, nevertheless.

And oh! One of our 6 jeeps was lucky enough to puncture a tyre....😱 Tough luck that it has to happen on the first day of the roadtrip. But with the help of the rest of the drivers and guides, we managed to continue on our journey in no time.

Just before arriving in Gyantse, had a chance to stop by sand dunes. Tibet is really rich in its variety of geographical landscape, from mountains to sand dunes to lakes. Check this website out for some of superlative that Tibet can boast about.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb